We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasent” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington Place

Carrington Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carrington Place to your Saves list
Carrington Place
132 Young Street | Carrington, Newcastle, New South Wales 2294, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unpleasent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The worst experience I’ve ever had. Manager was rude; he doesn’t have any idea how to treat customers and without any respect he said “it is your word against mine”. I did not get any refund even though they told me so; offcourse we couldn’t stayed in that place, because when we were given the room, we just realized that we were not informed that there is not internal bathroom, and when I complained about that, manager just said it is your fault not looking carefully the web site. In addition, TV was too old, and there weren’t any cable services. Moreover, the room was very small and doesn’t even have a wardrobe to put your stuff in; in addition mattress was too heavy not even to take a nap. Considering the price, it too expensive in relation to what you paying for.

After the incident we had to look around another places to stay that night and we found a better place (any place is better than Carrington, with double the service and just 10% increase the price. Doubtless, this place is not suitable for anyone who like enjoy a weekend off. Definitely I won’t recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As we had stayed here before for a wedding we were happy to return and I was pleased to book the disabled access room as it is the only one with ensuite bathroom. The room is quite large and stylishly furnished with a large (shower only) bathroom. We were here only to sleep but be warned this might be a bit of a problem in this room. I had read a previous review which complained of noise from the kitchen. This did not affect us as we returned to the hotel after the restaurant and bar had closed. Unfortunately I did hear other guests returning - 3 different groups between 2 and 3 am. The worst part was I could then hear them each walk along the corridor (directly above our room) to use the toilet ( directly above our bed - cue sound affects). Did not make for a restful night. Think carefully if the advantages of your own bathroom outweigh the noise issues. I would only stay upstairs in future. My partner on the other hand slept through the lot and would prefer downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. We were expecting it to be noisy, but were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much to ask. Breakfast was yummy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Not only is my room disturbed by the loud noise below, I don't remember being told that there's no internal bathroom, a tv that is so old they could have picked it up off the street in a council cleanup and it hasn't any reception so what's the point.. plus only one towel and one glass for two people... shampoo but no conditioner and no hair dryer. The only good thing about staying here is the hospitality you receive when you arrive, I guess they feel sorry for you. Overpriced.!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I booked the only room that has a bathroom. Room was fine apart from the broken heat pump.
1 towel between 2 of us and no hand towels or face cloths.
Worst part was the noise from the kitchen and the bar. After hours the staff decide make as much noise as they can.
Should have stayed at one of the normal hotels.
If you do stay here make sure it's an upstairs room, you won't have a bathroom of your own though.
Glad we didn't eat here after reading the poor reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Lunch today for five, pre lunch bubbles being a celerbration muns 79 b day, $30 bottle of bubbles which was fine glasses served were dirty lip stick around the rim not good enough. Moved to dinning room , pleasant enough, pre breads were good. 2 trout and three duck as mains. Fine dining it is not. Paper covering the table very off putting. My napkin was dirty and stained. The duck was tuff and unable to be cut by the knife supplied, needed a steak knife to get close, not good enough for duck. My mother being diabetic had to eat so my brother cut her duck up into small portions because she was unable to do it. I complained to the staff and sent 2 duck back. We were then informed this is the way it was done Again not good enough for apparently "fine dinning" there are a lot better places to dine in Newcastle. This is the second time I have dinned at Carrington Place the first 2 year ago the second today, the first was a great night beautiful food, today the second was disgusting and over priced. It is a shame that me being a local to Carrington, and trying to suport locally would feel so disheartened about such a beautiful venue. I did not stay inn house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Rarely do you experience the cliche of old fashioned service, well I recently stayed at this unique accommodation a short three minute drive to the city centre and experienced it. From the moment of entering the bar area you experience a wonderfully restored building with a modern twist, then the shock the staff makes you automatically welcome. The food is first class and the Carrigton Larger is too enjoyable. The food varies from a great bar Tappas menus to a first class Restaurent. If you don't put this place on the Menu the you are truly missing a great opportunity

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Place

Address: 132 Young Street | Carrington, Newcastle, New South Wales 2294, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carrington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.