We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be shut down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadmeadow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadmeadow Motel
114-150 Brunker Rd. Adamstown, Newcastle, New South Wales 2289, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Newcastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“should be shut down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

we never got a door key for a start. Didnt end up sleeping there it was that grose but went back the next day to get my belongings to find my room open, when we confronted management about it we were threatened, if said if would grab up by the throat and throw us in the gutter. I wish i had my mobile on record at the time. How rude. Ive never come across anything like this go my lifetime

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauchope, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We ended up here because I allowed my husband to book a motel, enough said. The room Number 42 Upstairs cost $90 for the night. I would not have offered them more than $50 myself.
The room was basic and very dirty. Very slapdash effort to make the bed and appart from that I would not have said any cleaners had been in the room. The carpet was filthy severe brown marks on the floor, the bed although made had an un ironed quilt cover that had just come out of the dryer and was covered in fluff and a few brown marks. The shower glass was filthy and had not been cleaned. The TV was filthy and also had chips to the glass screen. The aircon unit was operational but covered in dust and filth, There was only one bath towel for 2 people and only 1 face cloth. The dust on the fridge was very thick.
I would not reccomend this motel to anyone and we shall certainly not be staying here again.
The entire downstairs rooms seem to be let out to workers or homeless families.
Although this motel had just changed owners and they are doing a little painting to the outside of the premises the rooms are untouched and a disgrace.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Cockroaches. Dirty rooms (as examples, one bed had hairs on the sheets, another room had urine on the toilet seat). The rooms smelt like they had regularly housed smokers who smoked indoors (with burn marks on the carpet to prove it).
The motel owner opened the door for a "room check" at 7.30 am, and then at 8am a dodgy looking guy came knocking on our door looking "for the woman who used to live here".
There weren't even TVs in all the rooms - one of the basic things promised on the website.

Do not go here unless you are VERY money conscious and don't care at all about quality or being able to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Entire motel below par. The bathroom has tiles missing, mould growing on mirrors. The airconditioner did not have a front panel. Did not even have soap in bathroom. Only good thing was the friendliness of the reception desk.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broadmeadow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadmeadow Motel

Address: 114-150 Brunker Rd. Adamstown, Newcastle, New South Wales 2289, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadmeadow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Broadmeadow Motel to your Saves list