We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scottie's

Scottie's
36 Scott Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4926 3780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 352 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had such a bad experience I will never go back. The Iron Lady is so rude and condescending . The food is ordinary and very expensive. For our $39 mains we got to sit on very uncomfortable
old picnic tables and chairs! Could not believe it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner70, Manager at Scottie's, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
.


Hi Gary, were very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to Scotties. We do agree with you about the outdoor tables, new ones are on the way. We have had such a busy summer they really do need replacing.
Our prices do reflect the cost of our quality produce. We aim to buy our seafood & fish locally and it is always more expensive than imported seafood. However, not all our meals are expensive, our meals range from between $ 22 - $38 . It is our policy that if you don't like your meal, we are happy to cook you something else. We love what we do at Scotties, and really want you to enjoy your experience with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    6
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced terrible food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had the egg and bacon rolls and a serve of chips. Most of it ended up in the bin. Bacon was of questionable origin and really fatty, & the rolls were soggy and covered in
sauce. As for the chips they looked and tasted like they were reheated from 3 days ago. Definitely wont be going back. Waste of time and money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner70, Manager at Scottie's, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hello Alisha, Sorry that you didn’t like our Bacon and egg rolls and hand cut chips. We do charge $ 8.50 for the rolls as we use 2 free range eggs and the bacon is hand cut & double smoked. We will always happily trim the bacon for you if asked. We leave the skin on our hand cut chips and double cook them. They are very different to the frozen variety, but very popular at Scotties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had to wait a long time, but the food was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Well, consistent with other reviews on line, we had to wait an hour for our meal!! Well, we were virtually eating the table wear when our meal finally arrived. The prawns were incredible, the salt and pepper calamari were the most tender we had ever had. Possibly we were just starving, but one of the best seafood meals in a long time. Lovely relaxed setting. Will return (but maybe order starters to stave the hunger pains).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited Scottie's for breakfast while staying in Newcastle. The food was very nice and will go again in the not too far distant future. The only problem I had was the service was a bit slow and they had forgotten our coffees.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast in Newy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After reading various mixed reviews about Scotties, we thought we'd try it out for ourselves. Each time we visited, we went for breakfast and were typically there quite early - therefore avoiding any crowds. The first thing that grabbed me was the refreshing breakfast menu, a nice change from the typical bacon/eggs/thick cut toast menus dominating Newcastle breakfast menus. The first time, my wife and I both ate the veggie breakfast - which included a great house made hash brown/rosti as well as a nice big field mushroom and other bits and pieces. On our second visit, I went back for the Veggie breakie again, while my wife tried the scrambled eggs with rainbow trout. We really rate the veggie breakfast, while the eggs and trout were nice, however didn't set the world on fire. Didn't try the other dishes available however there looked like some nice choices. The coffee was good and nice to see that they didn't kill the flat white with too much milk and bad crema. Price wise, this isn't the cheapest place for breakfast. Would be happy to eat there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottie's also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scottie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.