We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Occasion Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonah's On The Beach

Jonah's On The Beach
Cnr Shortland Esplanade & Zaara St,, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 5181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 352 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $23 - $92
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Jonah's on the Beach is our favourite special occasion restaurant with its wonderful atmosphere, stunning view and superb service. Christmas Lunch and Valentine's Day Dinners are a specialty if you enjoy something a little out of the ordinary.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Jonahs at Noahs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is my restaurant of choice for all special occasions. Overlooking the Pacific Ocean makes the food, wine and service even better. At all hours of the day this is a place to be. I always find the staff friendly and helpful. Recently I had a lift off lunch for when my husbands ashes went into space.The chef created a special space shuttle dessert which not only looked good but tasted magnificent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great experience with superb beach views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Excellent discrete, professional service, great meals and superb views (in daylight of course)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Jonah's is excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our experience at Jonahs was nothing short of outstanding and we want to communicate this to everyone who reads this review. We live in Redhead, south of Newcastle, and we had visitors coming from Sydney and Adelaide so we wanted to give them a very special experience. To give you some background, we first met our friends in September/October last year on a Scenic tour through eastern Canada. We struck up an instant rapport so we wanted to really look after them when they visited Newcastle. We could not have chosen a better venue that Jonahs. We used Trip Advisor to review other restaurants that we had some knowledge of - Scratchleys and Rustica. Jonahs was the obvious choice for all the right reasons. We asked for a table for six by the window which was there for us on arrival. The service was impeccable - thoroughly professional, smiling, unpretentious and nothing was too much trouble even down to a last minute request for champagne as one of our lady guests had her 68th birthday on the day. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Some staff who are deserving of commendation and mention: Larissa, food and beverage supervisor; Bernard, assistant restaurant manager; Natasha, waitress. We may have omitted some but the whole team in that restaurant deserves thorough congratulations. Oh, the food: we chose from the set menu - two or three courses which were absolutely to die for particularly the desserts. There will be no doubt that we will be going back and we have absolutely no hesitation in passing on our recommendations regarding Jonahs. It leaves so many other restaurants in Newcastle for dead so have no doubt about making a reservation in this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Jonah's is my favourite restaurant in Newcastle, and it didn't fail to live up to my expectations on this visit. The staff are extremely friendly and professional, and the food was just fantastic, the set menu is great value, and the perfect view just tops off an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonah's On The Beach also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Jonah's On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonah's On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.