We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place with superb hospitality ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bright on the Murray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright on the Murray
93 Goldsborough Road, Moama, New South Wales 2731, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Moama B&B and Inns
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A magical place with superb hospitality ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I only have amazing things to say about this place. It really is magical on the river and a weekend at Bright on the Murray seems like a week. Di and Neil are superb hosts who welcome you into their home as if you are one of the family. They are interested in all their guests and interact easily with them. I loved sitting at the kitchen bench, watching Di create an amazing three course meal (cheap, yummy and beats any restaurant in town where you would pay triple the price). The rooms are spotless and the homestead is really beautiful. It really is a haven ... go and enjoy.

Room Tip: There are different sized rooms, so let them know when you book so they can accommodate in the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was our first time venturing to the Echuca/Moama region. We traveled from Melbourne on the scenic route via Romsey and Heathcote at the advice of Di at the Bright On The Murray B&B. This helpfulness and friendliness continued as we were greeted on arrival by a friendly host who was only too happy to let us know the best wineries to visit and suggested restaurants and cafe over the river in Echuca for us to visit.
We were delighted with our room in the gorgeous restored homestead. We had access to the amazing pool and walks along the mighty Murray. Our hosts provided an amazing breakfast and were incredibly helpful. I would return to Bright on the Murray again at the drop of a hat - especially too see Billy the dog.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Loved Echuca before love it even more , situated 10minutes from Echuca on a prime secluded 25 acre river frontage, our hosts were fantastic Di and Neil didn't see much of Neil maybe next time .Felt very relaxed and welcomb and had a great time with other guests .Loved the decor , atmosphere and home cooking

Room Tip: All rooms are great some have ensuites some don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I visited Bright on the Murray BB recently: without no doubt the place is located in a wonderful (ISOLATED) area outside Echuca-Moama, if you lucky you might see as well kangaroos running outside the pool area at the dusk time and bright stars in the sky. Overall the service provided by the host is pretty welcoming and pleasant, the rooms are clean, basic and without keys to lock them. She insincerely invites customers to have standard homemade dinners with her( and her numerous family members) which you will find out that cost $35 each person, unexpectedly pricey,frankly. On top of that, beware of interesting vouchers signed by her and offered with a smile: we candidly took it, thinking how nice and generous was to present a lovely lunch at one of the most expensive local wineries. We ended up paying half of the cost of the voucher at the end of our staying, as she "did not know" what the voucher was about. Smart move.Look, if you are seeking privacy and intimacy, that's not the place for you: the owner loves sharing her private life style with the customers, family members were over whilst we were there and it might not be everyone's cup of tea. During your staying, you experience a odd sensation of being a sort of invited friend in a household rather than someone who is paying $180 p.n., but do not worry you will realise the true feeling when you will check out!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Situated on the Mighty Mmurray on the NSW side of Echuca/Moama - secluded Bright on the Murray is 9 km along the Perricoota road. You get the best of both worlds here. Need a coffee and a wander in the old part of Echuca? 10 minutes into town - then back to the peace and quiet of the magnificent setting. Watch house boats cruise slowly down the river through the vista of old forest redgums, from the poolside, drink in hand...and feel the 'serenity'.
The house is a classic Australian homestead with lush garden lawns on the river frontage but with mod cons - three bedrooms with ensuite - decorated to match era of the house - beds extremely comfortable and showers have great water pressure. Really loved the welcome from owners Di and Neil - and as a professional caterer Di is more than happy to whip up a gourmet meal if you can't be bothered heading back out for the night - and you wont want to leave. It's like having your own weekender...but without all the work!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZipEchucaAUS, Owner at Bright on the Murray, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thanks for your review....so pleased you enjoyed your stay....Just thought I would mention that we actually have five bedrooms, three with ensuites and two with shared facilities. Hope to see you back at Bright on the Murray soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

What a find! Friends originally recommended that we stay at Bright on the Murray and we were totally delighted. The beautiful old homestead is warm and welcoming with sweeping lawns down to the banks of the Murray. The bedrooms are decorated in keeping with the age of the house and are very cosy. Dinner is an added service that Di (the owner) offers and we have enjoyed her food and hospitality each stay. There is also a pool for those wanting to swim or just lie around reading. A very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

This was a return visit for more of Di and Neil's superb hospitality. The homestead is set up for total relaxation. The setting by the river is beautiful and there are plenty of things to see and do nearby (if you can be bothered leaving). Rooms are spotless, warm and comfortable. Breakfasts delicious. Family friendly (we have 3 young children).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bright on the Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright on the Murray

Address: 93 Goldsborough Road, Moama, New South Wales 2731, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Moama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Moama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright on the Murray is a 120 year old homestead located on the banks of the Murray River. We are 10kms from Echuca/Moama and situated on 25 acres. We have five bedrooms, three with en-suites and two with shared bathroom facilities. Ideal for groups or family get aways we can sleep max 15. Catering is available for any style of function, birthdays, weddings and conferences. Enjoy relaxing by the river or lazying by the pool. Dinners available on request. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bright on the Murray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bright on the Murray to your Saves list