We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not fabulous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oz-Thai

Oz-Thai
306 High Street, Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 117 Restaurants in Maitland
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Maitland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but not fabulous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Seating area needs a re vamp. Perhaps to be modernized to accommodate a larger range of ages. Very small but nice staff. Ordered take away and staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We dined here late December and found the food to be very tasty with generous portions at very reasonable prices. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We had spring rolls to start with then chicken pad see ew and chicken satay. We were comfortably full and glad we didn’t order a serve of rice as we didn’t need it! Small restaurant with a nice atmosphere would recommend to give it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER BEEN TO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Arrived at oz Thai, no service. No one would give us a menu. Had to get it ourselves and seat ourselves. None of the waiters even could look at us. Finally after waiting 25 minutes to be served we ordered. Waited an hour, still nothing. Asked waiter how much longer, she said another 10 minutes. Waited 20 minutes and still nothing. Ended up walking out with nothing. Disgusting people, soooooo slow. No respect at all

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Menu and lovely Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived for a late meal on a very hot evening and weren't over hungry. The restaurant menu included vegetarian rice paper rolls so we ordered those and some fish cakes. Both were wonderful with great sauces. The service was friendly and the price very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cozy lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A small eatery (dine-in or takeaway) located at the southern end of High St. We had lunch once, liked it and returned again for a second time during our visit in Maitland. The place was clean and cozy. Even with other diners around, it was quiet enough for you to carry a conversation without shouting. The service was friendly and prompt. Food prices were very reasonable. We paid $20 for lunch for 2 without drinks (cold water is provided). Lunch special options include pad thai and cashew chicken. The food was hearty and tasted good. They also advertised that their food doesn't have added MSG.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oz-Thai also viewed

Maitland, Greater Newcastle
Maitland, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Oz-Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oz-Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.