We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maitland Regional Art Gallery

Maitland Regional Art Gallery
230 High Street, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia
02 4934 9859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Maitland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MRAG offers in total, eleven exhibition spaces in three distinct wings across two levels of the art gallery. MRAG accessibility features include a lift, interior and exterior wheelchair access ramps and a sensory garden. One wing of the building is dedicated to children and education: the Art Factory fosters appreciation to the arts for the specific audience of children, schools, family groups and youth. MRAG’s retail outlet showcases the wares of local, national and international artists and craftspeople as well as objects from the Pacific and the East including Africa and Mexico. The MRAG shop also offers toys and decorative art from international destinations. Adjacent to the Art Factory, café Seraphine caters to a large number of patrons Tuesday-Sunday 7.30am-4.30pm as well as for functions in and outside normal art gallery hours. MRAG is now one of the most active and exhibition vibrant regional galleries in NSW with almost 3000sq metres of public access space.
Maitland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am sure all who visit this Gallery will not be disappointed. With great exhibitions, a fantastic gift shop and a great café it is well worth a visit. I love the building with its old and new. It is great that Maitland has such a great Gallery. There is easy parking at the rear of the gallery. I have done a reasonable amount of world travel and I believe the items for sale in the gift shop are as good or better than anywhere I have been. Call in when passing by or visiting Maitland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dungog, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, beautiful displays and exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A surprising amount of material to view, excellent quality of displays, exhibits were extremely good. Cafe was also very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Top Class Ar Gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Maitland Art Gallery is a top class region gallery. Exhibitions change regularly and have varied themes. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must see when in Maitland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am not usually into art galleries but visited because admission was free and I had time to kill. I was so pleasantly surprised that Maitland has an art gallery of such high calibre. I enjoyed looking at the interesting and outstanding artworks in different mediums, all in air-conditioned comfort. I was impressed with the imaginative ways they presented the different exhibits. The heritage building where the gallery is housed was magnificent.

The gift shop located near the entrance was well-stocked with beautiful, unique and high quality merchandise. There was also a café which was filled with customers while we were there. Parking is at the back of the building.

Thank you to the friendly and very helpful volunteer at the info desk who took the time to explain the different sections of the exhibits. Wish I remembered his name.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great exhibitions in interesting building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The attempt to blend old and new makes for interesting architecture in this place... the shop always has unusual items and of course the exhibitions often punch well above their weight for a regional museum. The cafe is also great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitland Regional Art Gallery also viewed

East Maitland, Maitland
 
 

Been to Maitland Regional Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitland Regional Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.