We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Monte Pio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Monte Pio to your Saves list
Quality Inn Monte Pio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64-74 Dwyer Street, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Monte Pio Hunter Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We came here for my nieces 21st party. We booked a few rooms for family members and they were lovely, a good size and very comfy.

The reception and function staff were all lovely and very informative.

Will stay again if in the area, highly recommended

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuncurry, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights and paid $150 I thought the rooms were very nice and looked newly renovated we also ate there and was not so impressed with the food, and to be fair we only had one meal there so you can't really go on that, the service was great all staff was friendly and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Monte Pio as we could not find any available rooms in Pokolbin available for Saturday night. We stayed in the cheapest room, $150 for 1 night. It's a large hotel, and the rooms were very large and clean. Room service was affordable with cereal being $3.50 p/bowl and bowls of fruit $3.50 and there was a table in our room next to a big bay window. It has everything you need, the only problem was our room was a bit noisy. There was a wedding on there that night and so we heard all of the guests going to bed at around midnight; and anytime a room above us or next to us used their bathroom we could hear the pipes creaking and it was very noisy. The manager was lovely, and I hate people who complain on tripadvisor but don't complain to management, and had we have stayed more than 1 night I probably would have asked for a less noisy room but given only one night we didn't mind. Overall, it was OK.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, not sure if there are quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently with our 14 month old as a one nighter before heading to Hunter Valley the day after. We arrived around 9.00pm and we were welcomed by the manager who was lovely.
The room itself was spacious and had two beds, the only thing I didn't like was that the floors squeaked a lot and we could hear all the doors slamming from the other rooms. So in terms of noise we thought it was quite noisy.
We also tried the buffet breakfast the next day which had a variety food which was good. I found the bacon too tough and I also noticed a lot of the glasses were not washed properly and still had lipstick and lips marks which was not nice to see.
Overall our stay was ok and we were there just to sleep for the one night which wasn't too bad. I don't think I would choose this hotel to stay in again though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

10 years ago my partner and I stayed at the Monte Pio and it was a lovely hotel then. We had what I think was the Bridal Suite with the open fire. We had a lovely stay and did hope to return but didn't think we'd take this long. However, with the recent renovations it was a pleasant surprise and we stayed not in the same room but one the same floor in another loft room. The fire place has gone because of the Fire&Safety regulations but the room was still cosy and well appointed. The decor was Coco Republic which clashed with the old bathroom settings but that is neither here nor there as the bathrooms will be upgraded in the future. I found their whole furnishings quite eclectic with a Grecian theme in the foyer, heritage in the dining/lounge area and the bling in the bedrooms. There is something for everyone. The new owners have undertaken an enormous job in transforming this hotel and I sincerely hope it works out for them. Such a lovely building with local history deserves to carry on with lots of people coming to enjoy the hospitality. We ate at the restaurant on Saturday night and although it was busy with a couple of basketball teams and parents, it was a non issue. The food was well prepared and delicious. There is the regular menu plus a seasonal one and an adequate wine list. The staff are more than accommodating and if you have any issues or worries about booking, ask them. They are very helpful and also want to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: If you stay a Sunday night be sure to ask about breakfast for Monday morning. As there were only us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sister, mum and I stayed at the Monte Pio the weekend that Elton John performed at Hope Estate.. despite booking 5 months out from the concert, I was quite limited in the available accommodation which was in our budget.

Found a room at Monte Pio through Wotif - booking went well and the room was there for us when we turned up, thank goodness! Shower was okay, rooms felt a little unloved, but the building is a beautiful old girl who just needs some love (but it sounds like they may be getting that now thankfully!)

My grandmother was born in Maitland and we still have family links to the area, so it's nice to see people respecting the old buildings.

Will certainly give Monte Pio another go if I ever stay in Maitland again.. nothing to turn me off it per se, but just felt a little bit neglected when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Coast
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having grown up in Maitland in the 80s my wife and I remember when the Monte Pio was "the" place in Maitland. (I had my Year 12 formal there in 1987 and we stayed in the Bridal Suite on the the first night of our Honeymoon). We were heartened when we found out that the new owners were undertaking a refurbishment of the Monte Pio and last time we stayed we were impressed with the work that was being carried out.
This visit we booked into a spa suite and were pleasantly surprised and excited to be given the same room we stayed in on our first night of married life. The room was well appointed and had been recently refurbished, the carpet was new, as was the king sized bed and all the appointments. The only down side was the bathroom which has obviously not had the magic wand waved over it yet, but it was still clean and everything worked.
The whole establishment was modernised and felt clean and fresh. There was 2 netball teams staying there who were very noisy on the first night, but after discussing our concerns with the management team there was no problem the following nights.
We dined one night in "The Pines" restaurant and found it to be excellent food at a reasonable price with excellent attentive service.
The tarriff was extremely reasonable and more than appropriate for the quailty of the stay.
We must make speacial mention of the manager of his staff, they are always so friendly and welcoming that we always feel like we are among friends when we stay here.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Call the property and talk to the staff, they will be more than happy to help you enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Monte Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Monte Pio

Address: 64-74 Dwyer Street, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Monte Pio Hunter Valley)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Monte Pio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn Monte Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monte Pio Maitland, Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Monte Pio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.