We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and no-frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn to your Saves list
Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   248 Sloane St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Functional and no-frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We made an overnight stop in Goulburn, en route on our journey north. We made the booking online a week beforehand and paid good money for the room, but considering it is high season, I guess it was moderately priced. Reception was kind enough to make arrangements for our 2am arrival and parking was plentiful. As we were towing a trailer, this was an important consideration for us. The room itself was small with the double bed and a wardrobe taking out most available space. Facilities included a bar fridge, DVD player, microwave and a flat screen TV that is only slightly larger than my iPad! The bed linen and towels are well-worn and washed out but they were clean. The best thing about our stay was the shower - it pumped out a steady stream of hot water and the shower rose was adjustable. Bliss! I would recommend this place if you're looking to lay your head down for a few hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    25
    16
    26
See reviews for
16
42
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there as a half way stop from Melbourne only because it was close to town and a reasonable price. The room was small but ok with a fridge and microwave. Bathroom ok but tiles painted to cover the miss matched ones. It is old but clean and probably need some refurbishment to update.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked the Alpine Heritage via Agoda and made a mistake, booking an extra day. When we checked in and corrected what we needed, Agoda could not help, but the Motel DID refund the cost of the unused night. Very good.

We booked only a standard room, and @ $70/night really can not complain about what was presented. However, at 73 I had to lug my suitcase to to the third floor and back down the six sets of stairs. Double bed was comfortable but tired. Room and bathroom were clean, but again fairly tired and in need of revamp. Bathroom sliding door jammed and came off runner.

We were there for a 57 year school reunion and thus plenty of grog and tucker. This helped us enjoy our stay as Motel within walking distance of Golf Club, where most events took place.

Motel has a huge car park which may help if you have extra large vehicle or a trailer.

Free internet in lounge (I am irritated when hotels charge extra for this.), but the wi-fi that was there would never connect to my devices.

Room Tip: Never tried a deluxe room, but the standard rooms a pretty basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The promised "Wi-Fi" was not working - it was very important that I had access to the internet! The room was tiny. The bed was very uncomfortable. The room was noisy. Access was via several steps and narrow corridors. No power point in bathroom - no hair dryer. The only good thing I can say about this place was it's location and easy access to shops. I would never consider staying here again - at any price!
Adam F

Room Tip: Don't bother - give it a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpineGoulburn, Owner at Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
hi Adam F

there was WiFi available in house, there was hair dryer also avail, but why didn't you ask for it?

in the near future if you have any inquiries or stay at any motel, it is an extremely good idea to ask at reception or manager for any problems. there was no point complaining here and try to destroy our business? we are 3 stars motel and we have the cheapest rate in town, it is not 5 stars motel and does not cost you an arm and a leg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital Country
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This motel is well located clean and tidy. It has a very old feel in other words not modern. Lots of parking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the family room located top floor front, great room.
Beds had electric blankets etc.
Good value for money, travelling as a group only cost us $25 a head once we split the rate.
Was a good weekend of ghost hunting and heritage seeking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn

Address: 248 Sloane St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.