We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Dubbo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cattleman's Country Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Newcastle
1 review
“Weekend in Dubbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent the weekend away at Dubbo and stayed at teh Cattlemans Country Motor Inn. We found the reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Stayed in a superior queen room and found the room very clean well presented. The room appeared to have been recently renovateda nd was modern and well appointed. Breakfast in the restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. We would stay (and eat) here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for you kind words and the high rating review. We do hope you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    90
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
97
67
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked this place last minute and was satisfied overall. except the guy at the front desk was lazy and lacked customer service. the room we first got was not yet cleaned (dirty towels on floor and unmade bed) and we called the guy at the front desk. he said he would come up and give us some keys to another clean room. waited 15 mins and still didn't see him. called again and he said sorry I thought u were coming downstairs to collect keys?? I am convinced it was just plain laziness and poor customer service... we had all our luggage a with us.. why would we carry them back downstairs just because he failed to see that the room hadn't been serviced?? other than that, only stayed one night ( 12 hours in fact) was decent value for price you pay.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the rooms already cleaned before checkling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Thu, than you for the reply and review. I am glad that you liked the place and found it to be great value for money. After looking into the matter of you waiting for a staff member to come to your room, it was only a mix up in communication that they thought you were returning to the office. I do apologise for that and do hope you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The two bedroom apartment exceeded our expectations - very clean, large sized rooms, well appointed. Indoor heated pool while small was a bonus. Staff very friendly. Good family accommodation for our visit to the zoo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Denita, Thank you for the perfect score of 10/10 for the apartments. We find families love them and that is why they are hugely popular. Thank you again for the lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The Motel is very close to the Dubbo Zoo, shops & a very good Thai Restaurant just across the road. The room is very spacious, clean & modern. Have got everything you needed for a room plus iron, iron board & a toaster. They also have got a small indoor swimming pool & a Restaurant located in the Motel. All staff are very friendly & have smile on their face. The Motel offer wireless broadband but not free Wi-Fi & you have to pay extra for the breakfast. We will stay here again & very happy to recommend this Motel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and the high rating. Just to let you know that we have always had free wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We started going to cattlemans country motor inn 20years ago,haven't be back for a few years till last week what a fantastic surprise.the motel had been done up beautifully,staff were helpful and friendly in everything you asked of them,food was great.rooms were very clean and roomy.one surprising thing was its a 24 hour office booking in service, which you don't even find in the large cities.people have a number of room types to pick from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Elizabeth, thank you for the kind comments and the 10/10 rating you have given us. We do try very hard to make every stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a brand new fully equiped apartment and found it to be lovely. 2 bedrooms and a lovely full sized kitchen. We were worried about the heat in the middle of summer but it had 3 airconditioners and fans throughout.

Dubbo zoo was a great day out for the family and the restaurant was a lovely place located in the motel.

The housekeeping staff were lovely in supplying my family with fresh clean towels and coffee etc. We definetly found everything to be perfect for our week away and wont hesitate to come back. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and the very high rating review. Very happy to see you enjoyed Dubbo and the Zoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 2 separate nights either side of a 2 day trip to the zoo. Am always a little apprehensive about motels in general, but we were pleasantly surprised by the 2 bed apartments we stayed in. The actual bed rooms aren't huge, but they do the job. The beds were good and the electric blankets very handy. The kitchen was also good and the lounge room was quite large.

There is a restaurant on site but we opted for some takeaway pizza from the shops across the road.

All in all a good experience and everything we could hope for in a property of this type.

Room Tip: The apartments are at the back of the property and away from the main road and much quieter as a res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the perfect 10/10 rating. We do find the apartments are very popular for families especially when you compare that most places charge more for just a plain old standard motel room. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cattleman's Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Address: 8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for accommodation in Dubbo, the multi award winning Cattleman's Country Motor Inn offers a variety of very well appointed motel style rooms and apartments.Often described as "Dubbo accommodation at its best", the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is located centrally and is the only AAA rated 4 1/2 star motel in Dubbo. It is set on 3 acres with 110 rooms and serviced apartments and includes an indoor (heated) and 2 outdoor pools. For your dining pleasure we have our multi award winning restaurant which has been voted "The Best Restaurant West of the Blue Mountains". Open for breakfast and dinner 7 days a week as well as capable of seating 300 people, our Master Chefs ensure that every experience is of the highest standard. Our restaurant bar will allow you to sit and relax before settling into your meal.For conferences, we have purpose built conference rooms with dedicated seating for up to 120 people. For functions we have function rooms that can cater for up to 300 people. It is little wonder that the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is the first choice of many traveling to Dubbo with its quality accommodation, excellent facilities and all at an affordable price.The Cattleman's has friendly and helpful staff and is operated by the owners themselves, who have built the motel from the ground up. We look forward to meeting you and making your visit to Dubbo an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cattleman's Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cattlemans Country Hotel
Cattlemans Country Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.