We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cattleman's Country Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband booked this motel from England as we are touring Australia a king superior for 2 nights. We usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels as I am not keen on motels but I must say this one is the best I have ever stayed in. The rooms were quite large and were spotlessly clean. There are quite a few restaurants around the motel but we decided to eat in the motel restaurant as it was quite late when we arrived and were we glad that we did the food was first class and the presentation and service was excellent. The following morning we had the best cooked breakfast ever, as coming from England we are quite hard to please when it comes to cooked bacon and egg in a foreign country. The food was so good that we ate in the hotel the following night, as we found that it was reasonably priced for the type of food on the menu. The restaurant was full on both nights and not just with hotel guests there were a lot of local people eating there. We chose this motel because it is near the town and zoo, it is on the main road but we did not hear any noise at night. I would definitely recommend this motel and wished we could have stayed longer in Dubbo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the Motel and Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    90
    62
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
67
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped in on our way to Queensland after a long day driving. We hadn't booked ahead but were quickly provided with a room to suit two adults with a smaller room for the two kids. Ok it was right on the road but we were thankful to be provided with the room at such short notice.

The restaurant also managed to squeeze us in and we had a fantastic meal. The serves we're enormous and the quality was brilliant. We would stay there again just based on the food as there were several dishes presented to neighboring tables that looked equally yummy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review on both the restaurant and accommodation.
We are really proud of the restaurant and its is widely thought of as the most popular place to eat in Dubbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked for one night before visitng the Zoo and found the location great as it is only a very short drive to get to the Zoo early. We had a very good full buffet cooked breakfast and a quiet room on the first floor. No traffic noise to disturb us and a well furnished room with a comfortable bed so we got a good night's sleep. We thought the restaurant meals were maybe a little overpriced so we did not eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for such a great review on the Restaurant and accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a king superior room for 3 nights and very happy with the room. Of course it is not 5-star hotel quality (there is only one 5-star hotel by the way in Dubbo, but it is quite far from the zoo), but the room is very big, clean and the bed is comfortable with an electric blanket underneath. The only turndown is that the room is facing the highway. You can hear a bit noise from traffic at night. We chose the hotel because my colleague travels a lot to Dubbo and he practically has stayed on many decent hotels in Dubbo. He recommend this hotel as one the best you can get in Dubbo.

We had dinner at the restaurant. We ordered steak and pasta. It is the best steak we ate in Dubbo by far. The portion is also generous. The service is also outstanding despite it is quite busy.

The breakfast is no so good. They obviously need more staff especially on Sunday. It was so busy, the food run out very fast. The staff (one waitress and one cook only) were trying their best, but you can tell it is not good enough. The plates are dirty. I really think the used plates were wiped and not being washed properly.

The front desk staff are very polite and helpful.

We definitely stay in this hotel again next time we visit Dubbo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the lovely response. We appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa, they forgot to tell us it was the worst room in the whole complex, it was right on the road, the noise was terrible, and to add to this the motel kitchen was on top of the room, there was also a generator outside the villa, which went night and day. There was no bath in the bathrooms, and the beds were so HARD, I ended up with neck and back pain for a week, the heated pool is very small and the restaurant is VERY OVERPRICED. The toilet had holes in the wall and the fittings were missing from the bedside light, which made them such a HAZARD for two small toddlers who could of burnt their hands. We were never giver enough face washes, and minimum towels only, the kitchen was dirty, I wiped the bench over with a baby wipe and the baby wipe went completely brown with dirt. We paid $645 for 3 nights- what a WASTE of money. I reported my concerns on two occasions and they said they would PASS THEM ON. I have not received ANY communication yet. The photes are of the limited NEW rooms, please be aware.

Room Tip: The photes are of the limited NEW rooms, please be aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thats very unusual to get as we always get compliments on our 3 bedroom apartment. It usually saves extended families having to book multiple rooms which makes the $215 per night rate look cheaper. As for noise, yes we are on a highway like 99% of every other motel in the town but being such a massive property we do have quieter units at the rear which i think we should have offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family of four stayed for one night when we visited Dubbo to go to the zoo recently. The apartment was very comfortable and suited us very well for our short visit. The only things that stop me from rating this as 5 stars is that there was no bath (usful for toddlers) and we had to rearrange the furniture in the second bedroom to fit our portacot in. However, these are small issues. The hotel is very close to a variety of shops and eateries, and a very easy drive to the zoo. If I had reason to be in Dubbo in the future, I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattlemans120, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A little away from the main street, but located near highways. This motor inn is huge and has lots of facilities. Our room was clean and spacious, and we paid a reasonable rate. Reception was efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice room review and sorry that your meal was not up to your expectations. I have forwarded on your review to the kitchen as this should not be the case in them ringing you past 8.30pm to pick up your tray. I have extended the restaurant 3 times in size now and we are still full on most nights. We try our best to make sure everyone is happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cattleman's Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Address: 8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for accommodation in Dubbo, the multi award winning Cattleman's Country Motor Inn offers a variety of very well appointed motel style rooms and apartments.Often described as "Dubbo accommodation at its best", the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is located centrally and is the only AAA rated 4 1/2 star motel in Dubbo. It is set on 3 acres with 110 rooms and serviced apartments and includes an indoor (heated) and 2 outdoor pools. For your dining pleasure we have our multi award winning restaurant which has been voted "The Best Restaurant West of the Blue Mountains". Open for breakfast and dinner 7 days a week as well as capable of seating 300 people, our Master Chefs ensure that every experience is of the highest standard. Our restaurant bar will allow you to sit and relax before settling into your meal.For conferences, we have purpose built conference rooms with dedicated seating for up to 120 people. For functions we have function rooms that can cater for up to 300 people. It is little wonder that the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is the first choice of many traveling to Dubbo with its quality accommodation, excellent facilities and all at an affordable price.The Cattleman's has friendly and helpful staff and is operated by the owners themselves, who have built the motel from the ground up. We look forward to meeting you and making your visit to Dubbo an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cattleman's Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cattlemans Country Hotel
Cattlemans Country Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.