We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubbo oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cattleman's Country Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dubbo oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of spending several nights in one of the twin room apartments.   The apartment was neat,tidy and very tastefully decorated.  The bathroom was small,  but what it lacked in size the shower made up for tenfold.   The front desk staff were friendly and extremely pleasant and helpful.  We had dinner at the restaurant and the dinner was outstanding, for adults.  We did order dinner from the kids menu for our 4 year old to discover that the chicken nuggets were less the restaurant quality.   The actual location was excellent, only about 10 minutes to the Dubbo zoo and only about 5 minutes  from downtown Dubbo.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    90
    62
    13
    11
See reviews for
98
67
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Well the website really talked this place up but it's just an average motel. Quite noisy, people coming and going at odd hours. Swimming pool same size as you'd have in your own backyard and certainly too small to accommodate the 20 kids trying to tread water. Restaurant is nothing special but there's a good pizza takeaway across the road. Very overpriced but I guess it's a captive market.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
I am sorry your stay wasnt as you expected. The Motel is rated completely independently by an expert from AAA Tourism and has no input from the owner as to the outcome. As for the pool, being such a large complex you may have not been aware that we do have 3 pools (2 outdoor and one indoor heated) Thank you anyway for your comments as they will be taken onboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Everything was spotless on our arrival. However, when we walked into our King sized (new) room we had to turn lights on to see in the middle of the afternoon. Had a nice balcony which let a little light in, but as windows were tinted, not a great deal. Lovely room and centrally located. Traffic was a slight problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. Im not sure you need the lights on to see in the day in the room but thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is your run-of-the-mill hotel beside the highway - we stayed 2 nights here in the self-contained apartments behind the main hotel while visiting Dubbo's Western Plain's Zoo. While it was OK for the price, it was below par in some areas. Positives were that it was quiet, and the cleaning staff did a nice tidy-up while we were out for the day. Negatives included the surly, abrupt staff member on the front desk (both at check in, and later when we were having trouble figuring out the air conditioner), drinking glasses that appeared clean but were not (!), poor variety of pots and pans and utensils with which to cook a modest family meal (perhaps they want you to eat at the restaurant?) and really crunchy bed sheets (my light-sleeping wife woke each time I rolled over!). All in all, it was OK, but not great. Negatives were quickly forgotten though once we hit the zoo each morning!

Room Tip: top floor rooms are quieter in the self-catered apartments - you won't hear the people above sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your review on the staff and always get the front office to read customers comments in an endeavour to improve our service to you. We may not agree with your personal appraisal on the motel but do take all comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at this place in August in the 2 bedroom apartments. The rooms were nice and spacious. Unfortunately, a couple of things that were dampened our experience. The washers and dryers were expensive and didn't work properly and also the apartments are
in a seperate section to the main hotel. This is fine, but it is a long walk for kids to use the pool and for us to use the laundry and restaurant. This place is ok, but nothing fancy. I must admit the servicing of the apartments was great and the staff at reception were lovely.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment floors are better if you have young kids. The stairs are quite steep and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your review. The washers and driers are $3.00 . We feel that they are not overly priced at that amount. They are of commercial quality and always work. Its sad this has dampened your experience with us. The walking distance would be maybe a minute to the pool .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband, 9 month old bub and I stayed here for two nights in August in one of the semi-contained apartment. The room was very clean and neat, and the bathroom had great fluffy towels and and awesome shower head. I'm a bit of a five star princess and for $130 a night I thought it was great value and well-presented. We also had a lovely meal in the on-site restaurant.

Room Tip: We were in room 35, just above reception. Even thought it was close to the road it was whisper quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Cattlemans Motor Inn has a range of accommodation from standard motel rooms all the way up to two bedroom family apartments. We normally stay in the two bedroom apartments and the latest edition to the apartments are very nice indeed. Good kitchens and excellent lounge area with large LCD TV's. All are airconditioned and the bedrooms all have excellent beds.

The bathrooms are of good quality and have separate toilets.

The only real bug bear is that there are no lifts to the apartments so you will have to carry your luggage up outside stairs. The newest apartments are in a 3 story block of units, each unit is on one level. Parking is undercover in the newest apartment block but it is not secure and the parking bays are not allocated to the rooms so it can be a bit of a free for all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for such a lovely review. Were always happy to hear that our customers enjoy their stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that our newest extension ( and we always build more rooms every year) are more 2 bedroom serviced apartments and they will be opening in January/ February 2012. We feel that these will be the best yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cattleman's Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Address: 8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for accommodation in Dubbo, the multi award winning Cattleman's Country Motor Inn offers a variety of very well appointed motel style rooms and apartments.Often described as "Dubbo accommodation at its best", the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is located centrally and is the only AAA rated 4 1/2 star motel in Dubbo. It is set on 3 acres with 110 rooms and serviced apartments and includes an indoor (heated) and 2 outdoor pools. For your dining pleasure we have our multi award winning restaurant which has been voted "The Best Restaurant West of the Blue Mountains". Open for breakfast and dinner 7 days a week as well as capable of seating 300 people, our Master Chefs ensure that every experience is of the highest standard. Our restaurant bar will allow you to sit and relax before settling into your meal.For conferences, we have purpose built conference rooms with dedicated seating for up to 120 people. For functions we have function rooms that can cater for up to 300 people. It is little wonder that the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is the first choice of many traveling to Dubbo with its quality accommodation, excellent facilities and all at an affordable price.The Cattleman's has friendly and helpful staff and is operated by the owners themselves, who have built the motel from the ground up. We look forward to meeting you and making your visit to Dubbo an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cattleman's Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cattlemans Country Hotel
Cattlemans Country Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.