We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taronga Western Plains Zoo

Taronga Western Plains Zoo
Obley Rd | PO Box 831, Dubbo, New South Wales NSW 2830, Australia
61 2 6881 1400
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Dubbo
Attraction details
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fun with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

it is good value for locals as you can get in for mates rates. it has a lovely free (no admission) area for anyone who visits for a meal/coffee or just a play with the kids. Steer clear on really hot days though...animals tend to stay in shade and sleep.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    203
    55
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a disappointing zoo. I thought there would be more to see it is not a patch in Steve Irwin's Zoo.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As An Animal Lover, I Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dubbo Zoo is a very well kept Zoo that focuses on the well-being of the animals as its primary goal, followed closely by giving guests a fantastic experience.
We arrived and were greeted by to young keepers displaying to very healthy and beautiful corn snakes. After collecting our tickets, which we had purchased online the day before, we joined the queue to enter the park, this did take just under 10 minutes but the Zoo had only just opened so this is to be expected. We followed the track around the park 5 times so as to see all of the animals as they are fed and displayed at different times. We not once had any difficulty finding a park and were always given a smile by keepers and staff!
It can sometimes be difficult to see the animals if the temperature is quite high as they will seek out shade which is not always at the front of their enclosures so it may be worth bringing a large camera lens or a set of binoculars!
VERY pleased with our experience and will attend again. Please take care in summer as the temperature in Dubbo does get rather high in the summer months! Wear lots of sunscreen. Also if you can buy your tickets online you will receive a reasonable discount.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had an ok time we hired a little cart to drive , a lot of the animals were hard to see because of trees in the way or they simply weren't out of there houses the hippos wouldn't come out of the water so we couldn't see them at all , a couple of the exhibits were empty being renovated which is ok but they should tell you before you pay all the money , food quite expensive in the restaurant , it's too far to walk around so you really have to pay the extra money for the cart on top of the entrance fee which was about 120" for 4 of us and then 75 for the cart makes it quite an expensive day out and you can't really get up close and personal with any of the animals I was a bit disappointed really

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
762 reviews 762 reviews
433 attraction reviews
Reviews in 258 cities Reviews in 258 cities
1,797 helpful votes 1,797 helpful votes
“Australia's Best Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

For all the effort made to improve places like Taronga, we much prefer open-air zoos. This made this place easily our favorite zoo experience in Australia. There are many wonderful exhibits but some of our favorites including the rheas from Patagonia, the poor mallee fowl, ravaged by foxes in its native habitat and the delightful simuang monkeys from the jungles of tropical Sumatra. We don't usually like guides but the volunteer guide service here was excellent and added greatly to our appreciation of this zoo.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taronga Western Plains Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Taronga Western Plains Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taronga Western Plains Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.