We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sprout Cafe

Sprout Cafe
43 Macquarie St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 88 Restaurants in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The goal of Sprout Cafe is to provide familiar food that everyone knows and loves, in the most delicious, nutritious, and environmentally friendly way. Our food is our fuel and we believe all of us should have access to clean, wholesome, chemical free nutrition. Sprout is proud to offer an array of homemade, gluten free, grain free, sugar free, paleo, vegetarian and vegan dishes to invigorate and cleanse your body, mind, and soul. We source local, organic, fair-trade and preservative free ingredients where possible. From our hearts to your belly our healthy products were developed to appease your gourmet palate and benefit you from the inside out :)
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

After living in Dubbo for almost 5 years, i happened to come across this cafe. It was a cafe i had walked past a million times, but never thought of entering. Well, am i disappointed! Disappointed i hadn't discovered it years ago! I'm a paleo nut, and to think i missed out on years of paleo dining in Dubbo breaks my heart! :)

Food fresh. Wait staff friendly (albeit a little timid), but the male owner (?) was lovely. Asking several times how our meal was going. I like the open plan of the kitchen area. It was clean, and had a nice couch area too. Whilst the paleo menu is not that extensive (i could give them one or two fab recipes of my own!), there's enough to keep you coming back regularly. A slightly middle eastern flavour to parts of the menu. Has a very Newtown (for those of you familiar with Sydney) feel to it. Love it!

There is an outside area; however, being Dubbo, with its extreme temps and UV rays, i wish there was more appropriate shading.

I will definitely be a regular whilst i am still living in Dubbo.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If only all cafes were this good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Its a place you cannot help but want to return to. The energy is divine, the staff/owners give you their full attention, you feel special, you feel valued. And the food is yummy! The ethics of eating, buying produce and dealing with customers makes this a 100percent wholistic dining experience. Thank you for being in our town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff here are friendly and interested in people which is nice. Coffee is lovely and the French toast I had his morning was spot on, exactly the way like it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure in Dubbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

On Saturday we needed our 11am coffee hit and passed by Sprout which was literally buzzing.
We dropped in and what a fabulous find - such commitment, passion and wonderful coffee.
We tried the bacon and egg roll, the roll was something else, so light and unusual. So we returned for lunch, Yasim was concerned about our food allergies and altered the menu
to suit, nothing was too much trouble. The meals were just scrumptious and so light and clean tasting. They carry a huge range of herbal teas and our two were great. What a fantastic addition to Dubbo, what a fabulous find.
Hope they get 100% community support and keep going for a long time

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh,flavoursome and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Most fantastic lunch so rare to find such interesting and good quality food way out in a country town. Great vegetarian options, paleo diet and the best tabouli ever. They cater for all tastes we were a party of 4 adults and 3 kids, the owner was helpful and passionate about the quality of his food. A must stop if you are in Dubbo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprout Cafe also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Sprout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprout Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.