We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Gables Motel to your Saves list
Green Gables Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Bourke Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Griffith, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great last minute deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Traveling from the north coast down back home we had to stop and spend the night somewhere.

After searching wotif I came across a twinshare room here for a reasonable price, called up the motel who took my details and matched the price on wotif.
Staff were very helpful on the phone and the room Easily booked on the way there, we were provided with instructions on checking in as we were to arrive after hours.

The room itself was simple but well presented. Flat screen tv, clean linen, air conditioning, and a large shower made a comfortable nights sleep. Location is also far enough away from the main road so traffic noise is no problem at all, but still close enough that it is easy to find and quick to leave.

Checkout was quick and friendly, paid in full by cash. I definetly recommend this motel if you are just passing by or are on a budget.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
19
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed at this motel and found it to be excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy and the staff went out of their way to help wherever they could. We stayed in a deluxe room which had a kitchenette, microwave, toaster and electric jug. The room we were in fronted the street, but it was very quiet at all hours of the day and night. Perhaps the only thing that was a bit annoying was that the airconditioner seemed to get very cold or became too warm. All rooms are on street level, so it is user friendly for physically impaired people and people in wheel chairs with limited mobility. Parking is available directly outside every room. They also have a laundry, pool and bar-b-que for guests to use. All-in-all, I would recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathmont, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here with my family on my way to Queensland, and was very pleased with the accommodation. I stayed in a two bedroom unit, which was very roomy, clean and comfortable, and as it's off the main drag it was lovely and quiet. The bed was excellent and I had an excellent nights sleep.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A clean, comfortable, easy place to stay. Phone manner of the reception staff could do with some polish. The woman who took my call that we were confirming our online booking didn't seem interested. On checkout, I lifted the phone outside the office which started ringing inside but nobody came until one of the cleaners called a staff member who went into the office. She stood there expectantly, However the door was locked so I couldn't come in. This sort of thing is amateurish. However, I give a good rating because it is quiet, clean, roomy and has easy parking, good black out curtains and is reasonably priced. In cold weather I think they could do with minimising draughts with the addition of a better fitting door to the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Looking for a place to stay a few nights in Dubbo isn't a problem with a huge choice available. But getting somewhere that is very reasonable, comfortable and QUIET is a real find. Green Gables is well located to the town centre but away from the highway and is very well presented. Will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Any, all are away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms have been recently repainted and the first thing my wife noticed was how clean it was. Being off the main road it was quite. Queen sized room gave us enough room to sit and read or watch TV. If you are looking for a comfortable room as a base for your stay rather than somewhere to holiday in, then this is ideal. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Short distance to shops and very easy drive to the Zoo. If getting back to the motel late at night use the motel sign nearby as a landmark as the motel sign is turned off, which can make it hard to see the entrance the first time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our second stay in this motel in a deluxe room. It’s off-highway location makes it quiet yet still close to all amenities. Reception staff are friendly and helpful and make a real effort to meet any special requests re room inclusions. The rooms are clean and comfortable and include a very handy kitchenette with microwave, jug, toaster, sink, and a few plates and cutlery. My only gripe is that because we wanted a deluxe room with two beds, they could only offer the disabled room which naturally has disabled facilities in the bathroom – no proper shower screen meant water went all over the floor; and only a low basin with no bench or storage whatsoever. Really like this motel and location – but please, please management, convert one of the other deluxe rooms to a possible twin bed set-up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Address: 134 Bourke Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Gables Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 Star Accommodation Dubbo NSW At Green Gables Motel we offer a mix of modern 4 star accommodation & comfortable 3 1/2 star accomodation in Dubbo NSW, providing a quality accommodation for discerning business and leisure travelers. Located a short walking distance from the Dubbo CBD with a wide array of Restaurants and Shops, and just a short drive to the Orana Mall Shopping Centre, Green Gables Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs in Dubbo. Green Gables is located off the main thoroughfare providing a quite location for a good nights sleep. Green Gables Motel has 20 spacious rooms, room service meals, 6 free Austar Channels, WIFI internet, BBQ facilities & a salt water pool. Dubbo is a popular stop off point, halfway between Brisbane and Melbourne and also an easy drive from ACT, Wollongong, Sydney, Tamworth or Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.