We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beef pie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bakery Cafe

Village Bakery Cafe
113A Darling St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
02 6884 5454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 84 restaurants in Dubbo
Cuisines: Bakery, Australian, Café
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“nice beef pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

when i go here, there are always so many peole to buy nice bread. their beef pie and coffe are very nice as well

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    12
    18
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated, expensive & very average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our trip from Sydney hoping for great pies and service, we left completely disappointed, average pies and cakes, very expensive and under pa customer service, we will not be returning, we had far better food and service at PK'S bakery down the road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bakery?? Really? Everything taste like plastic!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast twice!
Terrible experience... Cappuccinos were so hot we had to wait 20 min before start drinking. Food was like coming from the supermarket! Terrible bakery

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Rated as a top bakery but our experience was not good. Placed our order and paid only to be told pie not available, so had to choose another which required a refund which proved to be a hassle and assistant not at all pleasant about it. Pie was very average

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good but had better pies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The village is a great place to stop if you're traveling through dubbo but just a heads up, they're not as good as the used to be! Real meat pies are getting harder & harder to find and if that's what you're expecting from award winning pies you'll be disappointed. The signs say real "beef steak" which would lead you to believe theres real meat in them but they're all mince and sloppy except the one and only plain chuncky pie. You won't find real meat in any others. I queried this and was told it is beef steak just minced. Place is self is nice though, you can always opt for a fresh sandwich and theres plenty of seating. Best pies are still in Hamilton,TAS in my opinion!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bakery Cafe also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Village Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.