We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dubbo RSL Club Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dubbo RSL Club Motel to your Saves list
Dubbo RSL Club Motel
Cnr Brisbane Street & Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here one night. Our room was a good size,comfortable, clean, and quiet (even though it faced the street). The location is very good. It is a short walk to the downtown area (and a Coles grocery store). The staff on the reception desk was friendly and informative. Breakfast was delivered to our room. The room rate ($136) included a $15 reduction on the cost of breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dubbo for a night or two.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
19
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stopped here overnight in a Family Suite. Very roomy, clean and quiet. Comfortable bed & good a/c. Excellent service & helpful staff. Ate dinner in the RSL across the road and found the food of excellent quality and size and reasonably priced. Thought the room w3as a bit pricey & breakfast was not included & a little pricey, so we ate out - really should have been included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lift if you don't want to walk too far with cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our famiy of three, including our 6 year old daughter, stayed here on an impulse visit to Dubbo. The motel is in a great location, the rooms are modern and spacious and spotlessly clean (no stray hairs in the bathroom!). Our room had a queen, a single bed, a small table with three chairs, a great shower (excellent pressure) and, at $139/night, represented good value. Gail the receptionist suggested a great pizza place around the corner (Stix and Stones) and we liked being able to walk around the corner and stroll along the river or down the main street of Dubbo. We had considered many other motels in Dubbo but, as we suspected, most are on very busy (and noisy) highways Although the off highway location was a major factor in our choice to stay here, we were woken by noise from passing locals - probably inevitable on a Friday or Saturday night. If it hadn't been noise you could probably sleep all day - the block out curtains are excellent.We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

The motel itself is fine. Rooms are clean, modern and reasonable value for money. The location is good as it's off the highway and central to the main street in Dubbo. There are few downfalls with staff working in administration. Whilst they are polite there seems to be inconsistencies berween different staff members' understanding of procedures. The day we checked in the staff member at the counter seemed unsure of how to process payment which seems to have resulted in my credit card being charged twice. On the 2nd day of our stay, another guest walked into our room as a result of mistakenly being given a key to our room. The reception staff member claimed to not know how this happened as she had just come on duty. The other guest had been checked in only a few minutes before. THEN that night we were unable to get into our room and the manager was unaware of what had happened that earlier that afternoon. On our 4th day we we unable to get into our room again and the staff member at reception thought we were checking out even though we had one more day of stay. So, we may have been unfortunate with the issues that occurred but I don't feel the staff properly addressed them as there were different staff each time and not much ownership of problems!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel ticked many of the boxes in terms of location, cleanliness and parking. However, while I had a suite I thought the price was rather expensive. I have recently come back from a round the world trip and the price of this hotel exceeded most of the ones I used in major cities. These were fairly upmarket hotels - such as Intercontinentals so I can see why the Australian tourism industry is struggling. Breakfast was extra and quite expensive and papers were $2.00. While I can appreciate the extra costs in Australia I thought for Dubbo this was quite a deal more than I should be paying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have been staying at this motel for several years and find it an ideal place to stay when visiting Dubbo. It is very central, everything is within walking distance, and the RSL Club and their Aquatic Centre is just across the road. The manager Geoff is always unfailingly helpful, the parking is secure and heat and rain screened, the units are well appointed and I just noticed on my last visit that if you book on the internet, breakfast is free. What I 'love' about this place though is the 'meet and greet' by Bella. Bella is a white Standard Poodle with ribbons on her ears and gold paint on her toenails. She is now about 9 years and does a wonderful job in welcoming weary travellers like myself.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

If the poor service at the front desk is not enough to turn you around the knowing that there is a rat infestation will. There were rat traps in our rooms. My friend woke up to find a rat eating an apple out of her bag.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dubbo RSL Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubbo RSL Club Motel

Address: Cnr Brisbane Street & Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opposite Dubbo's leading ClubQuiet off highway locationIn the Heart of the cityLuxury spa suites & 2 bedroom family roomsClub facilities include; -Superb casual & formal dining - Indoor pool and gym (FREE)Children under 4 years stay FREEBook on the Internet and receive a FREE BREAKFAST to the value of $15per stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dubbo RSL Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubbo RSL Club Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.