We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, typical country-style motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead Motel

The Homestead Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Homestead Motel to your Saves list
The Homestead Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Clean, typical country-style motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was the best value for a single night in Dubbo (other than the Formule 1) and it was considerably better than I expected. It's an old motel but has has a recent coat of paint and fresh bedding. The beds were really comfortable and both the bedroom and bathroom were absolutely spotless - one of the cleanest motels I've come across (and I tend to stay in a lot of country motels travelling for work). The bathroom is dated but very clean. being an older-style of motel the rooms are huge. Nice motel, great value. I'll stay there again next time I pass through.
NB - I looked at some of the older reviews that weren't impressed with it, and it's worth noting that it's fairly recently come under new management.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
20
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were nervous about booking the Homestead, because so many reviewers complained about how dirty it was, but the free Wifi in the rooms (extremely rare in Australia) convinced us to give it a try. Glad we did--they have literally cleaned up their act. The room was very clean, attractive, roomy and well equipped--comfortable queen bed plus single bed, desk, table, chairs, counter space, good quality toilet paper and kleenex, mini fridge and microwave, coffee/tea makings and cookies. The fridge is tiny, but has enough room for our needs. There were some unobtrusive stains on the carpet, but it appeared clean. About a 20 minute walk into the CBD. For a budget motel, this is about as good as we have found! (And the free Wifi saves us $4-6 per hour.)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Watch out if you stay at the Homestead- they cancelled a booking we had for the long weekend- one week out!!! We booked it almost a month ago and now they suddenly discover the room is double booked-wot crap- we will never ever stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here 8 years ago, the carpet hasn't been changed since then and was filthy with large patches of stains. Bedside tables were dusty as were the chairs. Booked two rooms, in both we found socks, lolly wrappings, shoe and, toy under the beds or chairs. Washbasin had a spout that was loose, surrounds of taps not clean. Stained water jug, tea and coffee not replaced first night. Pillowlips not ironed and doubtful about the cleanliness of them and bedding. Came home one day to find our door wide open and I was not happy as I had a laptop and jewellry in the room.

This is a 3 1/2 star motel and while I did not expect anything flash, I did expect cleanliness to be first class. Also the pool was in a disgusting mess with sunken and floating things in it. Weeds were growing in cracks and crevises. I paid $125 for a family room which is up there with some of the better motels in the town.

Not a good look for Dubbo tourism.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I have to give this motel a few ticks. First early check in to allow us to go to the zoo, second free internet, and third was the value for money - paying $107 for a family room on Easter Saturday which had capacity to sleep 2 in the main room and a second room with a double and 2 singles and a second tv. There was also a little kitchenette, a microwave and table and chairs. Out of the 5 motels I stayed at on our Easter holiday - this was clearly the best at the value for money end of the market.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Homestead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Motel

Address: 101 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Homestead Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Homestead Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.