We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & very quiet and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Toongabbie, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location & very quiet and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We loved our stay here. We booked an ensuite site and found it to be very modern & extremely clean. The park was very quiet, clean & very well managed. The staff were very helpful & friendly. It is close to the Dubbo Bowling Club and Dubbo Zoo. Would highly recommend and definitely will be back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
75
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Enjoyed my stop and as usual the amenities were first class and reception service very professional. Well located park to many attractions but a bit far away from City centre (which may be good as eliminates noise).

Room Tip: Book in advance as it is a very popular Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

hi, my partner called the big4 at dubbo a few days. according to my partner the lady was nice on the phone and told us for the cabin, we were staying in the "luxurious" cabin whitch included alot of different things like bathtub, outdoor bbq etc. when we got to the big4, we were excited, as soon as we got to our cabin, we were shocked! the outside looked more like a shed then a luxurious cabin, then we went inside. the only thing that was good was the bed, the kitchen is extremely small, the bathroom was a nightmare, toilet was broken and had to keep fixing it. can hardly fit in the bathroom it is so small, dodgy shower and no bath the fridge is right infront of the bed it was soooo noisey and we couldnt sleep. so my partner went back to the reception and explained to the female there that we got ripped off.he told her when we booked over the phone the lady said we are getting the luxurious cabin and when we to the big4 got the cabin wasnt luxurious at all. so she agreed to what my partner said we will give you a luxurios cabin if you pay extra like $150 more and give you a $40 discount. the playground was boring for our little one. it seems like everywhere me and my partner go we get scammed or lied. this really isnt fair and i feel like ive been treated like rubbish. big4 say they are 4 stars. my cabin was a big 2 star.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we do regret that the accommodation booked did not meet your expectations. When taking bookings over the phone we will often go through a range of cabins that we have available and their pricing. Your review has reminded us that we need be mindful to repeat the features and style of accommodation clearly. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests as we strive to provide the best value, service and facilities. We hope you will return to BIG4 Dubbo at some future times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a one of the houses over their, check in was fast after a long drive form Sydney. Although reception staff was not welcoming as I experienced with warm welcome form the Big4 staff at Nambucca. Their is a small pool and a large jumping pillow which kids enjoyed. Other things were average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have a long utility/camper trailer combination, so are always impressed by genuinely easy-to-access sites. This is a good, clean, well appointed park which has been well thought out with angled sites for easy access. We were at the back of the site so less worried about highway noise, but it's certainly not a quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My parents and children and I recently stayed at the Big 4 Dubbo.
Check in was ok- initially they tried to overcharge ( accidently) but was rectified quickly. Staff was efficient but not overly friendly.
Cabin- we had a 2 bed room Macquarie - was very clean, well laid out, plently of space for 5 of us. The only negative was that the mattresses on the bunks were VERY hard- even my kids complained and didnt sleep very well, they may be new?
The park itself is lovely , very clean and quiet, good facilities for campers, they do a kids movie every afternoon, have jumping pillow, bbqs etc.
The big negative is the pool- its TINY- same as a backyard pool. Wasnt a big problem for us as we were there out of school holidays in autumn. The kids still had a swim as it is heated and they had it pretty much to themselves, but I would hate to imagine in summer school holidays with hords of kids - would be impossible to use. They really need to look at putting in a decent size pool and perhaps keep this one as an adults only??
Location- great, only a couple of minutes from dubbo shopping and you could walk to the zoo if you wanted.
Check out- very friendly lady and super efficient
So all in all a great place to stay and I would stay again, but would really think about staying elsewhere in summer if you wanted a pool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for this feedback as it is comments such as yours that help us to plan the future of the park. We are glad that you enjoyed your time and that the kids took advantage of the heating in the pool. Proximity to the zoo is a great attraction and we hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to Dubbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night whilst travelling back home, stayed In a studio cabin, was great and spacious - bathroom very small (I don't think you would like a bigger person or a pregnant lady trying to fit between the basin and wall to get to the shower, but it was clean and even had 2 reclyinder rocking chairs which was great to relax in, the park was clean and didn't notice traffic noise. 5 minute drive to the dubbo zoo. The lady was very helpful on arrival - let us check in early and was great help with signing up to big 4 membership. Will definately stay again but for longer to enjoy the park!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park

Address: 154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your whole family will have big fun at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park! We have a range of accommodation options from self contained luxury cabins to caravan and tent sites and a bunkhouse for school and sporting groups. Close to Taronga Western Plains Zoo we also offer a Jumping Pillow, pool and many more facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.