We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellant facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

on checking in the staff where brilliant, helpful excellant. the site was well maintained & our ensuite facilities where nice & clean. water was hot....heater worked well.
on checking out we encountered the staff member from hell. witnissed her being really rude to someone trying to check in. very rude to us as well. not sure wether she needs more training or a holiday but not a good representative of the park or the other staff.
would certainly go here again though as the facility was awesome

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Oh, dear...thank you for this feeback which we will look into immediately. We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
75
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Only stayed 1 night but was very basic for the price. Paid close to $150 for 4 ppl for bunk bed accomodation and 1 queen bed. Needed updating. Stayed in a pretty much brand new cabin in west wyalong the night before which was a lot more modern and cleaner and cheaper

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The park is good for kids, close to everything. I was quoted a price and had to pay 1 nights charge as a deposit and when we arrived we were told that the price had just gone up and would now be $65 per night more which was really disappointing that we were not notified earlier.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review Becr76. We have investigated the issue with your tariff and the Property Manager will contact you personally to discuss. We apologise for the inconvenience and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

5 families made the trip with our kids from Sydney to spend the weekend at Dubbo Zoo.
We were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed the Big4 Dubbo parklands. We all stayed in the 2 bedroom cabins . Very happy with this 4 star accommodation. The Cabins offered everything we needed. Clean, spacious but the highlight was those beds and electric blankets... All families commented on having the best night sleep.Highly recommend this place for any familes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you Fionapie for your kind review. We strive to ensure that all guests enjoy their time with us and a good nights' sleep is part of the deal. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had an awesome time at the park. Close to all attractions like the zoo and Old Dubbo Gaol. Also drove to Parkes to see the dish. Kids absolutely loved the jumping pillow and could've easily have just stayed at the holiday park the whole time as there was so much for them to do. We stayed in a cabin it was beautiful and clean and warm. Only problem we have with it is that it is a bit expensive. Other than that we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, Kylieaf and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

From booking -late arrival- to checkout- staff made our holiday easy. The facilities are clean and well maintained, surroundings neat and as we went with a young family over easter there was lots to do at the park alone. We had a powered site for our van and although we wanted an ensuite (booked out) the facilities are maintained over such a busy period perfectly. Plenty for kids of all ages to do on site with a pool, playground, jumping pillow, tv room and our 6 year old lost her training wheels so she could ride on the bmx track. The closeness to dubbo zoo makes it an ideal location and shops were close by although park keeps basic stuff at all times(e.g bread and milk).
It was a great holiday for our family even though we never got to old dubbo goal or the dish at parkes or other attractions due to the great facilities at the park and a couple of visits to the zoo to see it all so maybe we will go back again soon.

Room Tip: i think all accommodation at parklands would be g.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I travel from Atlanta several times a year and always stay at Big4 Parklands. The management has changed since I first started staying there in 2006, and unfortunately so has the price tag. They have added a few newer cabins, which are very nice, but hugely overpriced. I also wouldn't recommend paying for the internet services since we were never able to get a decent signal unless we literally had our laptop at the front gate. When we asked about being reimbursed for it since it doesn't work properly, the front desk informed us it wasn't their problem and we would have to take it up with the provider. They are aware you can't get a signal much past the front gate so it would be nice if they were honest about that with guests. The front desk staff isn't quite as friendly as the old owners, but I can't say they were overly rude, just not much more than cordial. My husband is originally from Dubbo so we love to stay locally when we visit, but the price at Big4 has made us book somewhere else for our July trip. It just isn't the same since management has changed and no longer worth the price. If paying a little more doesn't bother you, the atmosphere of a caravan park is usually always nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review MrsChristyP and for bringing these issues to our attention. Your review has been noted by Management in order to ensure we continue to improve our facility and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park

Address: 154 Whylandra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your whole family will have big fun at BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park! We have a range of accommodation options from self contained luxury cabins to caravan and tent sites and a bunkhouse for school and sporting groups. Close to Taronga Western Plains Zoo we also offer a Jumping Pillow, pool and many more facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Dubbo Parklands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.