We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely reminder of Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Doors

Two Doors
215 Macquarie St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
02 68852333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 87 Restaurants in Dubbo
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely reminder of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped for a sangria and creme brulee - best creme brulee I have ever had. And the sangria was very nice. The little courtyard was the nearest to the little tapas bars that I have seen since I lived in Spain decades ago.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    26
    10
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Country hospitality with a Spanish concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'm originally from the area however now reside in Sydney. Discovering Two Doors (with thanks to Trip Advisor) I can recommend this restaurant as a place to dine. Dubbo is starved of some quality establishments and it is refreshing to see an operator take on a risk of introducing a Tapas and wine bar concept to the region. Please however don’t expect traditional tapas or Spanish wines (which are more accustomed to major city establishments). Gauging from the menu it appears to be designed to utilise local and more recognisable produce with the influence of Spanish techniques and some spanish ingredients. The twice cooked pork belly was the highlight dish. The history of the sandstone building is well documented and adds to the ambience and atmosphere. The venue was buzzing and at capacity (with tables being turned for later sittings) and that to me is indicator of the overall quality and experience. I will return again as I feel this is great venue to share experiences with family and friends and is good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Amazing! Come here quite a lot, best place in Dubbo. Tried out the new menu food was beautiful, lots of flavour! Try out the new crab and chicken souvlaki..The atmosphere is great, beautiful outside dining in the courtyard. The fairy lights and candles make it very pretty. Definitely recommend this restaurant any day of the week!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubbo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“another great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So enjoy my favourite eating place in Dubbo. A two doors luch outdoors today in the lovely courtyard was just so relaxing and the pork belly burger was yummy indeed. I highly recommend this place to eat and the nightime tapas menu is awesome and always great service every time I have been. Well done everyone

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The service was absolutely terrible. It took an age to take our order, then when other people who came after us received their food before us, we realised that our order had been forgotten. Which it had. When our food finally came, only 3/5 dishes we had ordered appeared. The others never came. The portions were miserable, the food was overpriced. NEVER GO THERE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Owner at Two Doors, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your blunt review. Easter Saturday is the busiest night of the year for most restaurants in Dubbo & while we would like to make it a perfect night for every diner, lack of bookings, shortage of staff with members choosing to be with their family & volume of numbers, gave us a very trying night.
The owner did offer to provide your missed meals, free of charge but this was declined & we certainly apologised for the obvious errors that occurred with your table.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Doors also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Two Doors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Doors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.