We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two doors, 6 Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Doors

Two Doors
215 Macquarie St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
02 68852333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 84 restaurants in Dubbo
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dubbo, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two doors, 6 Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of dining at 2 Doors restaurant and bar. We were seated in a lovely el fresco courtyard. It was a particularly hot day, but dont worry the area was beautifully cooled by water misting fans. It was very pleasant. We were served drinks promptly with plenty of cool drinking water available. We had a wide selection to choose from on the menu and as it served tapas style, we all shared. The food was outstanding, and what initially appeared to be smallish serves were huge. We couldn't get through ours. The service was first class and the owner, Julie was very friendly and took time to tell us about her plans and the restaurants history. An awesome bar inside with a great selection of wines, beers, ports and liquers. We had sangria to share. I gave 2 doors 5 stars, but the main star was Julie. Well done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    61
    22
    9
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back for sure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Perfect courtyard setting and beautiful indoors too - we sat outside as a beautiful Summer evening but looked inside and very impressed by the exposed sandstone walls and decor. Open areas to handle bigger groups, but also cosy rooms for more intimate dinner if required. Amazing bar - well stocked (love the two cork-board doors hanging on the wall BTW) and massive wine fridges, especially refrigerated red wines which would be rare for most places even in the big cities - but logical given the temps that Dubbo would experience, especially this time of year).
Friendly, attentive service who knew what they were talking about when queried on menu items and ingredients. Great selection of wines on offer (though we stuck to the Sangria - WOW) and a menu which covers all taste buds. They offer 'half' serves of most dishes which, as a couple, gave us a chance to try twice as many dishes which was great - more places should do the same...
We started with the ciabatta bread with olive oil & dukkah, then ate moussaka (delicious), prawns wrapped in prosciutto, marinated mushrooms, pork belly (beautifully moist but with great crackling...oh man, the crackling ...!), and finally lamb cutlets. Just for practice we shared the crepe layer cake.
Great vale for money - so many different flavours for the same total bill as what you would pay for a good steak and the same drinks.
Lunch menu also looked very nice, a lot more compact than the dinner menu but still plenty of choices.
Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two Doors Tapas Dubbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Whilst staying overnight in Dubbo stumbled across the Two Doors Tapas bar and was surprised to find this cuisine. The soft shell crab, antipasto dish and pumpkin and haloumi fritters were yum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A taste of tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Based on reviews we visited Two Doors on a busy Sat night as a family of 4.
We were accommodated even though we hadn't made a booking. Nice.
Service was quick and the waiter kept our water fresh without asking. Nice.
But...
Let's get this straight, tapas IS peasant food. Simple food. $16 for 4 croquettes made out of potato and fried in days old oil is not really value. An antipasto plate made of Philadelphia cheese rolled in parsley and a chilli mix, a few olives, deep fried chickpeas and a few slices of sourdough doesn't equate to $20+
If this is the best to be found in Dubbo then I pity the palates of Central Western habitants.
The food was ok. Not filling or satisfying. I'm sure others will enjoy it especially if you are new to tapas.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Really nice feel and the food is very good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved its Spanish influences. The 'half serve' tapas are a helpful innovation enabling more sampling between two. Service is friendly and there is a nice, informal and comfortable atmosphere about this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Doors also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to Two Doors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Doors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.