We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oldie but a goodie excellant hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caledonian B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonian B & B
Save
You added Caledonian B & B to your Saves list
140 Chloride Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Coffee
Ranked #1 of 10 Broken Hill B&B and Inns
Warnervale, Australia
1 review
“oldie but a goodie excellant hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After an instant spontanious decision to travel to Broken Hill we saught out accomadation on the nett and selected the CALEDONIAN HOTEL B&B. What a wise choice this turned out to be.Our host BARBIE picked us up at the station and settled us in. HUGH is also an excellant host and a bloody good cook (great mushrooms on toast) I had to return one week later to collect a vehicle I had purchased.Same deal. HUGH picked me up from the coach depot at 11pm at night.I felt like I was part of the family.The shared bathroom was never a problem as you can pass the time reading all the little notes Barbie has strategically placed around the area most of them quite humerous. Barbie is also an excellant ARTISTas is evident by all her paintings hanging around the walls THANK YOU Barbie and Hugh. We will most certainly recomend you to others wishing to travel to Broken Hill. Regards Laurie and Noeleen

Room Tip: The yellow room has a great bed and is roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thanks Laurie and Noeleen for your comprehensive review - Our free transfer service is just one way we can let you know that you are 'special'. I mention this quite a few times but it's worth doing it again - 'It's only the nicest people who come and stay with us' and the way we look at it is that 'you get back what you give out' so its a good idea to give out lots of good stuff!!!!!
Nothing is too much trouble and it is good fun to make sure our customers are happy - Thanks Hugh and Barb - PS we hope the new car is going OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    31
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
72
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at "The Callie" for three nights in October by pure chance as we had friends who had booked in quite a while before and on our arrival in Broken Hill decided to see if we also could get a room. As our friends had the only ensuite room we found that having to share two bathrooms between three rooms proved no problem at all. Over the next two days we were treated to a wealth of knowledge from Hugh in relation to all kinds of information from his early travelling days to his present passion for the future of Broken Hill. This was often shared over the magnificent setting for breakfast or when arriving back from your days outing for a tea or coffee.
Nothing was ever too much trouble and it was so pleasing to be able to share in a good laugh or story throughout our stay.
The motto of " where the sheets smell like sunshine and the breakfasts tastes just like mums" is so true of this beautiful , warm and homely B & B. It is the only place to stay in Broken Hill and we would highly recommend "The Callie" to anyone wishing to enjoy the quality and service provided by Hugh and Barb.
Thanks guys for a great stay.
Gary and Libby
Milperra. NSW

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thanks Gary L for your enthusiastic review - it makes Barb and I so proud - You mention that although we only have one ensuite we have another three rooms which have two bathrooms so there is never a big demand on the bathrooms and most are happy to share under these conditions. We do our best to inform about our area and take great pride in serving the best possible breakfasts - thanks once again ans we hope you have a chance to return - Cheers - Hugh and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Picked up from the Indian pacific train by Hugh. Stayed in the cottage with the ensuite. Clean and very quiet. The shower is an experience with the option of jets and the overhead and the normal hand held shower heads. Wow.
Hugh is a friendly chap and a great chef.
Breakfast was excellent and thanks to Hugh and barb for getting us to the Indian pacific on time even though it's was 2hrs early .

Room Tip: Musicians club is a great venue for meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi and thank you to Benny15B for your encouraging review - the timetables for the Indian Pacific were disrupted because of the awful bushfires throughout the Blue Mountains. Our thoughts are with those who suffered. We were able to ensure our guests caught the train OK because we had incoming guests to collect - and it simply becomes part of the friendly service - Thanks for giving the Spa Shower a bit of a plug - it's good fun. And it's our guests who make our business - so thank you all - and potential future guests are most welcome - Cheers Hugh and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had my second 8-day stay at the Caledonian in September 2013 after visiting at the same time last year for a family reunion. This time it was for family history research. I chose to stay at a former pub because that's the line my family in the area had been in. I'm really pleased I chose the Cally. The trip advisor reviews were spot on. Barb and Hugh picked me up and dropped me off at the airport. They provided suggestions on what to see and do. They left me alone when I was busy and listened to my rambling stories when I wanted company. They also showed a genuine interest in what I was doing! They were really obliging about my absences as I made side trips into the bush during my stay. The service is outstanding, the rooms are comfortable, and the breakfasts are wonderful (the other reviews are quite right!). The best part is sitting at the dining table getting to know the other guests. Being there for a 'long' period allowed me to fell like an 'old hand' as I saw the comings and goings. I can see that Barb and Hugh treat all their guests with the same care and courtesy. This may sound a little glowing, but that's how I feel. The Cally really does feel like a home away from home - and I'm hoping to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Blue room and Sage room are both very comfortable. Blue Wren cottage is great - and I loved the art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you Phillip T for your review - One of the most rewarding experiences we have is being the catylist that brings people together, especially around our big dining table - We often observe guests enjoying each others company as they relax over breakfast. When we hear peals of laughter coming from the dining room we feel we are doing a worthwhile thing - Thanks Hugh and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our planned visit to Broken Hill was looking a little shaky until we hit upon the Caledonian whilst doing an internet search. We went from being thankful for having any accommodation to being delighted to have enjoyed the company of Hugh, Barb and the dogs for three nights. The very attractive external building was matched by the quality of the bedrooms, living and dining areas in the Caledonian. Barb was busy with an injured pet so it was Hugh who chatted with us and prepared the sumptuous breakfasts that even the folk in the tourist bureau had heard about. I liked the fact that Hugh gave us as much space as we wanted but when we were on for a chat he was most accommodating. We left for the ten hour drive back to Melbourne feeling that we had done more than just stopover at Broken Hill, we had linked up with a lovely bloke whose company we enjoyed immensely.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks Ian G - Hugh here - I'm flattered by your review and doubt that I deserve such a good wrap!!!!
I need to point out that Barb is the one who does most of the 'work' and I am the one who does most of the talking - We just do our best and the nice people who come and stay make it enjoyable - Cheers Hugh and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were picked up and returned to the train station after 8 days of great hospitality by Hugh and Barb. The Cally has lots of old time character with breakfasts that even included homemade jam and curled butter. Hugh's Anzac bistcuits were that popular he was battling to keep up the production. We enjoyed our chats with Hugh and the other guests, the rooms were almost always occupied. Our room even included an ensuite with Spa shower and Bidet. We would recommend the Cally to all those who like a top B & B, we will certainly be back when we return to Broken Hill. We had a great time looking around Broken Hill and soaking up the history of the area in our stay of 8 days.
Noel & Carolyn

Room Tip: Ask for the Ensuite Room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks Noel W from Woolongong for your supportive review - The journey to Broken Hill by train is subsidised by a pensioner rebate and when you stay for 7 nights you get one night FREE. We happily provide free transport for our guests from the train station and then do our best to make sure they get the chance to explore all the very interesting facets of Broken Hill and area. You were particularly fortunate to receive TWO double yolkers - our eggs are laid by very happy chooks who live on the banks of the Darling River. Our small B & B only has one room with an ensuite but we have two bathrooms shared by only 3 bedrooms - so there is low demand on the bathrooms. You are our most important ambassadors - TripAdvisor is word of mouth expanded by the internet - Barb and I thank you - Cheers Hugh and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hugh met me at the train station with a big smile and warm welcome and that's how it continued for my one week stay at the wonderful Cally. The old pub is delightful but it needs special people to give it warmth, humour and good old fashioned hospitality and Barb and Hugh provide that in spades. They really go the extra mile. I loved the long dining table where Hugh, (my personal chef), served a delicious hot breakfast each morning plus the conversations and laughter shared with other guests. What a happy, friendly atmosphere. I had lots of questions about Broken Hill and Hugh always had the answers and much more to tell.. Thank you Hugh. Barb shared some unusual aspects of Broken Hill with me (ever been to the dump?) Thanks Barb. So not only did I have very comfortable accommodation within easy walking distance from the town centre but I left feeling like old friends and very grateful for their part in making my BH experience unforgettable, fabulous, hysterical and beyond my wildest expectations. The Cally was recommended by some friends in Adelaide and they sure were right. Di L

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbra K, Owner at Caledonian B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks Di L for your really well written review - (Barb just said I sound like a teacher!!) it is interesting that you pointed out that the real people who live in a building give it warmth. And you know what? - Barb and I have come to realise that you never 'own' a property - you are merely the custodians for a period of time. That attaches a big responsibility - it is incumbent upon us to pass 'The Cally' on to whoever comes after us , in as good a shape as possible. The biggest part of what we do is enjoy the interaction between guests and make sure as far as possible that they leave having had the best experience possible - So thanks - Cheers Hugh and Barb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caledonian B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian B & B

Address: 140 Chloride Street, Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel was built in about 1885 and was granted a liquor license in April of 1898. It ceased to trade as an hotel in November of 1999 and the license was transferred to Sydney just in time for the Olympic Games. Barb has transformed the heritage listed building into the best Accommodation facility in Broken Hill according to the many reviews submitted by people such as yourself. So 'Thank You' When you come and stay with us! We will ensure you have the best experience possible because we strive to maintain the high standard we have set for ourselves. Don't forget to mention Trip Advisor when you book in - we have a special deal for you. Cheers Hugh & Barb ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledonian B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.