We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service & Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daydream Motel

Save Saved
You added Daydream Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Daydream Motel
77 Argent Street | (Reception entry on Kaolin Street), Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tour Special
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Broken Hill
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service & Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Daydream Motel over the June long weekend. We rang to book a couple of days beforehand to find that there was no availability, no surprise when you leave things to the last minute, but Chris had us sorted out for a very reasonable price to accommodate us in the old cottage next door. The house was older as I had expected, but serviced our needs very well being a family of 2 adults 3 kids. I must admit I was expecting the house to smell musty being older, but to my very pleasant surprise it didn't. The addition of some comfy lounges and bright quilts have obviously been added to bring some brightness to the house which I thought was lovely.

Christine and John were very helpful to us and in particular to our children and were quite happy to listen to their tales of where they had been and what they had collected on the day. I have already recommended Broken Hill as a place that all families should go to our friends in Adelaide and Sydney and will certainly be giving them the details of the Daydream Motel. The only disappointing thing for us is that we returned home and our shower pressure is terrible! We miss your shower and the wonderful gas heating! We look forward to staying with you again, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Shannon and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. Our cottages are a perfect base for couples or families to stay so they can self cater as they are fully self contained and have plenty of room inside and out. We're so glad that the Daydream Cottage suited your needs as a family and that you all enjoyed your stay here. It was lovely that the kids enjoyed coming over to visit and show us what they'd collected and bought during your stay and have a chat. Broken Hill is a great destination for people of all ages to enjoy and we are really pleased that you have recommended the town and our motel to friends. Again thank you and we hope we can accommodate you next time you're here in Broken Hill. Cheers, Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    52
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
39
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found our 5 nights' stay most enjoyable and was great value for money. Our unit was quite large, beds and pillows very comfortable. More blankets were promptly provided when needed. The afternoon sun streamed in our 3 windows making it very warm and cosy.
Our several contacts with Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We chose Daydream Motel because of its proximity to Argent Street shops and railway station - a short stroll.
We knew it did not have microwave and toaster, but that would have been handy/convenient for us - we understand it was not possible because of the sensitive smoke alarms installed.
Overall, we are very pleased with our stay and would be happy to do so again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a few words about your stay at the Daydream Motel. Although we don't have toasters in our rooms, we do have a very reasonably priced breakfast menu on offer. We're happy that didn't deter you from staying with us and are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you indicated, we are in a great location being away from the general noise that the centre of town can generate, but still close enough that it's an easy stroll to local eateries, attractions, shops and also the railway station and Information Centre. Regards, Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here on 10th June for one night. We used tripadvisor to select a motel while on the road after a 900+ km drive that day and were very happy with our choice based on what others had said. Our 2 girls loved having their own room and we had a very comfortable night. The room was clean and spacious and had a great size bathroom. Christine was very helpful with providing ideas for take away dinner and was happy to provide us with bowls etc for us to self cater for breakfast. it would have been nice to have a toaster but i understand there is an issue with sensitive smoke alarms in the rooms.
All in all a great motel to stay in, and we would not hesitate to do so in the future or recommend to others.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Stuart and thank you so much for your review. We're really pleased that you were so happy and comfortable in our family room, that the girls were so chuffed to have their own room and also that you enjoyed your Chinese take away that night. We are always happy to do what we can to make our guests stays enjoyable and we're glad we were able to do so for you. Thanks for your recommendation. Regards, Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was happy to return after visiting previously to find the friendly service of Alan and his wife still
there after all these years. The breakfasts are a good size and always hot. We stayed for 3 nights 2 of these nights were in the family room which is great for a young family, I would not
recomened for teenages and above as a single beds are to small. We will definately stay again
when in Broken Hill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Norman - thanks for taking the time to write a few words about our Motel. Alan and Jessie will be very happy to see that you were pleased to see them and receive their hospitality again, and of course also that you still choose to stay here after many years of patronage. We acknowledge your comment in relation to the single beds in the family room, however it should be noted that they are a standard single size and we regularly have both teenagers and adults sleep in them with no issues. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you when you next return to Broken Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansbury, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here at the end of May and into early June whilst in Broken Hill on business. I found the staff to be very friendly, rooms very comfortable and quiet. As I was travelling with a trailer on they were able to offer extra parking space for me to keep vehicles off street. Their knowledge of local places to eat was valuable. The bonus for me was after returning to the motel after being up scrub working for several days was the onsite laundry facilities enabling me to catch up on laundry after two weeks on the road. I have business in Broken Hill early July and will be staying here again if they have room.

Room Tip: Room 14 is set up for wheelchair access, large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Gordon and thanks for your review of our motel. We do our best to make things easy for our guests and being able to provide space for trailers is something we're happy that we're usually able to do. Many of our guests find the onsite launderette invaluable, particularly if they've been working away or have been on a long and leisurely road trip. We're very pleased you were happy with your recent stay and will be happy to accommodate you (and your wife if she ends up accompanying you) in July when you return. Cheers, Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was happy with my stay in room 13. The lady at reception was super fevered and was more than happy to help us.
I found the room to be comfortable and good value, we sayed on the Sunday of the Queens birthday long weekend and found $80 to be a more than fair price. The bed was comfortable, the shower had great pressure and overall it was pleasant.
As this is a budget motel dont expect 5 star, but if your stopping in overnight and just want a decent bed, a shower and a tv then stop in here.
I would stay here again if passing thru Broken Hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Sarah and thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay here. It's so nice to read you were comfortable in your room and we always love to hear that people would stay here again. Whether our guests are here for a few nights to enjoy the attractions of Broken Hill or just passing through, we are aware they require a warm welcome to somewhere clean and comfortable (often after a long drive or train journey) without spending a fortune. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our ability to provide this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The people were extremely helpful ,breakfast was well priced and served on time.Bed very comfy only complaint is maybe the carpets could do with a clean.Otherwise good value.Close to the railway station walking distance.also close to clubs and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaydreamMotel, Manager at Daydream Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Helen and thanks for sharing your thoughts on our motel. It's great that you were comfortable in your stay here and found our location to be within easy walking distance to local amenities. We're sorry stains were evident on the carpet in your room, as we do endeavour to keep them clean. High volume traffic does mean that, particularly in our busier times, stains can appear so during our quieter months we have them steam cleaned. We're happy that, regardless, you did enjoy your stay and found our accommodation to be good value. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Broken Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daydream Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Motel

Address: 77 Argent Street | (Reception entry on Kaolin Street), Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affiliated to the Budget motel chain, the Daydream Motel comprises 16 ground level motel rooms, as well as the Daydream and Argent Court Cottages. Double, single, twin, triple and family accommodation is available. Reasonably priced continental or cooked breakfasts are available for order and will be delivered to your room. Our onsite launderette is available for guest's use and ironing facilities will be provided on request. WiFi is available at no cost. Reception staff can provide you with information on local attractions and eateries and will also arrange any tours with our local suppliers. Both the heritage Daydream and light and spacious Argent Court Cottages offer fully self contained, air conditioned accommodation with digital flat screen televisions in the lounge rooms, separate dining areas, outdoor courtyards and use of the motel's laundering facilities. The cottages are a perfect base for the tourist who wishes to experience the splendour of the outback or the corporate client who requires comfortable home-like accommodation whilst in town on business. Conveniently located on the corner of Kaolin and Argent Streets (Broken Hill's main street), guests of the motel and cottages enjoy a peaceful setting away from the traffic noise but still only a short stroll to the CBD, bus & train stations and Broken Hill's favourite clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Daydream Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daydream Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.