We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to an amazing property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel
226 Seymour Street, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Return to an amazing property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate to return last night to Bishops Court. Christine and David envelope everyone of their guests with such warmth it is as if you are visiting close wonderful friends in a special special place. The divine unique bedrooms and bathrooms are 10 star... no stone is unturned to deliver luxury at its best. Relaxing in the lounge, in front of the roaring log fire, with a glass of wine or a pot of tea reading the latest fabulous magazines does not get any better. Christine and David you have put BATHURST on the map with BISHOPS COURT as a MUST RETURN TO DESTINATION.... Cant wait to return and enjoy yet another of your beautiful rooms and hospitality sooooooon. Heather and Peter Ahrens

Room Tip: The Botanica room was filled with winter sunshine and looking out at the garden was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
85
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We escaped from Sydney on a Friday afternoon for a stolen weekend away - it was my husband's birthday. What an absolute treat Bishop's Court is - an absolute "must" in Bathurst. Christine and David made us feel at home immediately and catered to our every whim and need. An unbelievably luxurious and indulgent "home" with bowls of chocolates everywhere, a roaring fire, endless good wine, and a wonderful sense of serendipity. We absolutely fell in love with Chocolat and Latte (2 Burmese cats) and would move in permanently if we could! David even took us around the racetrack before dropping us off for dinner.
Just be aware that due to the heritage listing of the building the bathrooms are not en-suite (except one room). Our bathroom was heavenly, but a few steps down the hallway. It didn't bother us at all, but just a consideration.
We can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: The Botanical Room is the only one on the ground floor and is huge with a heavenly bed and very luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have just shared the most wonderful weekend with my husband and 5 other couples who are all close friends. We had been planning this weekend away for several months and as a return visitor had been looking forward for some time to arriving on the Friday afternoon. We arrived and were so warmly welcomed it is hard to believe our hosts were almost strangers as we felt like we were returning home. We had been corresponding for sometime, planning the special candle-lit dinner in the quite stunning chapel now dedicated to fine dining. We had an exquisite dinner on the Saturday evening, lovingly prepared by Christine and her amazing staff. I cannot recommend more highly this beautiful sanctuary which provided each of us with wonderful respite from our busy city lives. Thanks Christine Zoe and Grace for your warmth, hospitality and incredible passion and commitment. Your attention to every detail made our stay memorable. We can't wait to bring our friends back again. Barbara and Stephen Campany

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

How can 1 Night be so life enhancing? Meeting Christine and David at Legalls patisserie for great coffee and pastries was like meeting up with old friends. Words can not describe what wonderful people they both are which is why they have such a great place in Bathurst. Bishops Court is a beautifully restored 1870 home which has had great touches done by both Christine and David. The warmth and welcome atmosphere, the comfy beds, great lounge with an open large fireplace, great gardens and a beautiful walk out verandah from our room ~ what more could you ask for. We recommend BishopsCourt to everyone and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I will never stay anywhere else in Bathurst ever again! After staying at a local hotel for 3 weeks until I found Bishops Court, I didn't know what I didn't know....

Bishops Court is a uniquely magnificent property, impeccably and lovingly restored and maintained by Christine and David in a way that even the most discerning guest will be in awe of!

Regina and her staff were fantastic and made sure every detail was attended to. I found myself wanting for nothing!


A destination I will surely visit with grest delight once more.

Dean

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Arriving in Bathurst on a Saturday afternoon with car trouble, we had to find somewhere to stay the night. We found Bishop's Court and were so lucky to obtain a room. This 1870's beautifully restored home is just lovely, with such commitment to detail of original decor, comfort, warmth and welcome - you feel like you are stepping back in time.

Our hosts, Christine and David, could not have been kinder to us, so knowledgeable of the area and history of Bathurst We had a lovely room, the bed so comfy and warm, with walk-out verandah, nice gardens. The lounge room has sink-into lounges, beautiful large open fireplace (not to mention a gin and tonic), soft music and other guests to chat with. Breakfast was the best - a wonderfully laid almost banquet table fit for a royal visit (with real serviettes and serviette rings). Home-made muesli, home-made fruit conserves, just delicious, country eggs with yolks almost orange and cooked so many ways to perfection.

We will certainly be back again. We recommend Bishop's Court to everyone who appreciates being made to feel pampered and special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have just spent three glorious pampered days at Bishops Court whist visiting Bathurst on a buisness trip. How lucky was I this place is truely amazing the elegant decor and style inside the house then through to the beautiful garden. The host Regina created a wonderful atomosphere with passion and dedicated service on returning to Bishops after working all day on a late June cold afternoon it was great to be greeted by Regina who escorted me into the Lounge room where there was a wonderful log fire burning and a pot of Tea!! Luxury at is best love it!!
Joanna

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel

Address: 226 Seymour Street, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop’s Court Estate offers superb service and luxurious accommodation, built in 1870 this Victorian Mansion is scenically located high on the hill overlooking Bathurst, and its majestic countryside. It is the premium choice for both the business and leisure traveller. Rated 18/20 by the Sydney Morning Herald as one of Australians best boutique properties ‘ a pleasure for the soul with incredible warm friendly hospitality, superb dining and amazing attention to detail, come and enjoy this hidden gem of Bathurst with hosts who are both passionate and very knowledgeable of their region.Awarded Travellers Choice Award for 2012 by Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Court Estate Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.