We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King prawns from the Prawn King” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Li

Chef Li
10/177 Howick St, Bathurst, New South Wales NSW 2795, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 77 Restaurants in Bathurst
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“King prawns from the Prawn King”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited this restaurant to check it out personally after reading the reviews. It does not disappoint. The prawns are definitely super fresh. I had king prawn noodles. Was delighted to get such good prawns inland. I have also taken a photo of the place since the original photo is definitely not Chef Li's. In the evenings, parking is easy along the street. Prices are slightly higher than the average chinese restaurant but it does not disappoint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bathurst, australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A great dining option for Chinese cuisine in Bathurst. Do not be put off by the ordinary interior. The food is the absolute winner. We had Chinese dumplings as entree yum with a capitol Y. Mains were combination in black pepper sauce & sizzling chicken with fried rice,both mains were delicious lovely sauce melt in your mouth meat & prawns not to mention the beautiful vegetables, The only down side the wait between meals were rather lengthy. Meals were generous in size and very reasonably priced.Overall an excellent dining experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Photo on Tripadvisor is definitely NOT this restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading reviews in trip advisor, but the interior decor is pretty much your average Aussie country town Chinese restaurant NOT the fancy looking place in the photo. Thought we must have had the wrong place briefly.

However the meal was decent and actually pretty good for a country town, as others have described.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place for King Prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in Bathurst for one night and decided to have takeaway dinner from Chef Li's. Ordered king prawns in oyster sauce, dumplings and Singapore noodles. The king prawns and dumplings are excellent and valued for the price charged, with generous portions. The Singapore noodles were average quality. While waiting for the takeaway to be prepared we were offered water and a table to sit down. The decor of the restaurant is classy and beautiful, a surprise considering the prices charged are not that of an expensive establishment. The service was good and we would definitely come back again to Chef Li's when we're in Bathurst.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After being recommended by relatives to try, we were not disappointed. We have had dine in and takeaway on numerous occasions, the quality and flavour of the chinese meals is consistent and are a generous size as well. Make sure you are hungary... love the salt n pepper king prawns.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Li also viewed

Bathurst, New South Wales
 
Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Chef Li? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Li, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.