We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch above the rest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Li

Chef Li
10/177 Howick St, Bathurst, New South Wales NSW 2795, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 81 Restaurants in Bathurst
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A touch above the rest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The first thing you'll notice about this place is the pleasant decor. They have gone to some effort to make it a classy joint. Now, can they cook?? Yes! I have tried EVERY chinese restaurant in Bathurst and Chef Li's food is on another level. Very tasty without the heavy glugginess of other places. His combination short soup rocks my world...delicious! His dumplings are a nice alternative to dim sims and the Ham and Chicken rolls are a favourite. He uses fresh prawns not frozen. I guess you have to pick your dishes here. For a place that can make such nice food their special fried rice is terrible!..very bland and tasteless. I buy it elsewhere if I want it. But, overall, still an excellent dining experience...just pick the right dishes. Fri and Sat nites are extremely busy...order early if you don't want to wait 1hr or more for takeaway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“well cooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Best Chinese food in Bathurst, honey king prawns are magnificant, always hot and fresh. We usually phone with our order when wanting take a way because it takes about 1/2 hour before its ready. They are always quite busy. Its best to go on a busy night, when they are quiet the food isn't as good. Highly recommended if its Chinese food you are looking for. Without a doubt.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese we have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have made several visits now to Chef Li & always find the food delicious & very good value. The prawn omelette is to die for , prawn toasts also way better than we have ever had. A great thing about the banquet menus is that you get a say in which dishes you have. Wines are remarkably inexpensive for a restauraunt & we have found the service good & very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese restaurant in Nsw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese food !no any where els we will go for Chinese food in Bathurst ! The food always fresh any tasty ! Like salt pepper pork, king prawn dishes! Lamb and beef are tender !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

OK. Ordered a King Prawn omelette. Chef Li had choped the KP's up so they were small! Also, no bean shoots and little of anything really - he did use fresh eggs! Sizzling Beef was watery!!!! Like the beef had been defrosted and water on the plate....therefore it sizzled for a second! OK though not much flavour. The steamed dumplings were good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Li also viewed

Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Chef Li? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Li, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.