We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elies Cafe

Elies Cafe
108 William Street, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
(02) 6332 1707
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 77 Restaurants in Bathurst
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A lovely menu selection, which lived up to all expectations. The atmosphere was great. Service was a little slow, but forgivable, with helpful, pleasant staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Elies Cafe is one of the first places we go to when we get to Bathurst. The food is amazing! We have told family, friends and even strangers how good it is and we highly recommend it.
We make an effort to do a trip up to Bathurst for the 9 hour drive for the weekend at least twice a year! Staff have always been friendly and helpful. Prices are good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Retired from what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

From what it promises this place falls well and truly short. The menu, the wine list and the venue itself has almost everything going for it, however this place has let itself down considerably due to a lack in innovation and good service. I have been here many times because on these occasions I was in a rush or my ideal place in Bathurst was closed for renovations, and unfortunately the quality of the food is never something to rave about. On one occasion my poached eggs were like rubber bullets that were more likely something that should be used in the movie die hard. Secondly, the typical breakfast with eggs comes with toast the size of a cracker, hardly satisfactory for anyone who appreciates their english breakfasts. Their desserts are clearly not made in house and lack any flavour. And lastly their main customer base is made up of the elderly that I would assume have taste buds that cease to work and a bladder control that will not allow them to have any water, as I most certainly have always had to ask for water every time.

A friendly wakeup call to perhaps to get the act together.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
1 review
“Spend Time Here.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thank you Elie's Cafe for an amazing Dinner last night for my Mothers Birthday.... Food was to die for and we give you 5 stars and the service by Stuart we give him 6 Stars... Thank you to the whole team at Elie's you made us feel part of your family.... cmx We will be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Have enjoyed breakfast and lunch here great food coffee & service, menu has a good variety of choices to chose from.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elies Cafe also viewed

Bathurst, New South Wales
 
Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Elies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elies Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.