We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit for fossil/dinosaur enthusiasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum

Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum
224 Howick Street, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
(02) 6331 5511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 attractions in Bathurst
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting visit for fossil/dinosaur enthusiasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited on our recent trip to Bathurst as our son loves dinosaurs. There were enough dinosaur bones to keep his interest, and he enjoyed the other fossils too. The kids weren't interested in the mineral displays but these were well-presented and I found them interesting. The staff were very friendly and we would visit again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

a trip back in time is enjoyed at the museum,in the heart of bathurst,it is strategically placed for a leisurely visit created by local man warren sommerville.

The friendly staff made our vivit a pleasant experiance

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

An extensive and well presented collection of fossils of all kinds and beautiful rocks of all persuasions. You will learn a lot from this small but very fascinating museum in the heart of Bathurst CBD

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive collection in a nice venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Housed in the former Bathurst school, this compact museum is colourful and interesting. My 10 and 12 year olds both enjoyed it, especially the fascinating fossils. Educational and interesting, this is a world class collection. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Brilliant Museum - a Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The collection of minerals and fossils in this museum is absolutely fantastic - an amazing variety of beautiful minerals and gemstones and fascinating fossils. They are also displayed so well that you can concentrate easily on almost every specimen without feeling that there is too much.
Bathurst is so lucky to have this wondeful collection!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum also viewed

 
Bathurst, New South Wales
Bathurst, New South Wales
 

Been to Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum to your Saves list