We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel but amazing location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst to your Saves list
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel but amazing location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The title sums it up. Located on the Conrod straight on the famed Mount Panorama circuit, its location is fantastic if you are there for a Motorsport event. But the hotel itself is terrible. The bathroom drains smelled awful whenever a tap was ran, but that was nothing compared to the smell of sewage in the corridor. I suspect that the hotel had not been used in some time and going from empty to crowded in one day overloaded its plumbing. The room was grimy and full of cheap, worn furniture. The restaurant closed early as they couldn't cope, possibly just as well if the eggs at breakfast were any indication of the kitchen's abilities. You could almost cope with all of the above if you weren't paying over A$400 a night for the room and A$8 for a beer!! This is the kind of hotel that needs a warning. Best avoided unless you need the circuit access.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Marcus M and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, particularly as we had such good feedback from our guests over the Bathurst 12 Hour event. I will investigate further the hallway smell you reported, as this is not something we have had reported before. The plumbing issues you speak of are not a case of empty to full, rather the 3 weeks of 35 + temperatures that the hotel has experienced. We do have a solution for this, and if reported it can be fixed quickly and efficiently.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    131
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
87
81
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narooma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Booking and staying at Rydges Mount Panorama was a huge surprise for my hubby. It is a place that all fans of Mt Panorama should treat themselves to at least once. Our room was great, overlooking the race course and the staff were very friendly. Sitting on our deck and watching cars drive around the track and people walking and jogging past made us very eager to drive around it ourselves after a wonderful night in the motel. The race track is much more difficult than it appears on the tv. We highly recommend a stay at Rydges and a few laps on the course.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Corrina O and thank you for your great review. It is great to read that you had such at good time at the hotel and the precinct, and of course it is always a must do to do a few laps around the track. Just make sure you remember the speed limit!

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It is lugduriose there. They have a swimming pool and spa on level three , have open balconies so you can just walk to the end and they a buffet restronte on level one they also have good views of the race track.You have a tv bathroom and kitchen in your room.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Massang and thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and it seems you enjoyed all our features and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We were passing through Bathurst and needed a place to stay, we stumbled upon the hotel almost by accident but I'm so happy we decided to stay there. The receptionists were beautiful and very friendly, a great sense of humor and eager to help. Our room was lovely and a very good price. All of the staff were very attentive and being a waitress/ bartender myself I was impressed. The food was excellent! - kudos to the chefs, thanks for a lovely dinner and stay.
I would highly recommend staying here, especially looking over conrod straight and Mt. Panorama. Good value and brilliant service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Kate 2468 and thank you for the great review. Great to hear you accidentally found the hotel, and we were able to show you a great time.

Now you know about us, we look forward to you coming back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Its located next to a racing tracking. Nice veiw also have different experience to drive arond the track.
Nice hotel and fine dining in the restaurant. Very delicous meal. The quality just good as five stars hotel.
Unlucky It was a goup people above us were having a party and make big nosie until 3am.
So we didn't have a good sleep at that night.
Beside that, we love that hotel room. Big and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi ShihYuan and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear your sleep was affected, I am not sure if you tried but please always remember you can ring our reception team if your experience is being affected by other people. It is great to read you had a good experience in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

For motor racing enthusiasts…..great location right on Conrod Strait over looking the Mt Panorama track…The rooms are clean and very large with a well stocked kitchenette, all rooms over look the track so great place to be on race day. The staff very friendly and helpful. A full breakfast was included in the price. The food and service in the Restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Adrianna742 and thank you for the great review. Great to see you enjoyed a classic motor racing experience at Mount Panorama and a great experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I organised for five families to stay at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst on our way home from an exhausting 4WD/Camping trip. I did all this on the telephone on our way for our overnight stop. The staff were very professional and were able to provide some very competitive rates and alternatives to our large group. Upon arrival with our convoy we were able to off load all our gear whilst taking up the entire driveway, we were then provide with off street parking for our 4WD's and campers.
I can only comment on our room but it was fantastic, KIng size bed, spa, two toilets, kitchenette and the list goes on, oh and not forgetting the massive balcony overlooking the race track...bonus.
Our party all had dinner and drinks in the restaurant and the staff easily catered for the group and looked after the kids. This stay was a great final night for a great trip and it was topped off by being looked after by staff of Rydges. Great hotel, would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi nerney1961 and thank you for the great review. I'm sure after the camping trip it was nice to enjoy the air conditioned comfort of our rooms! And great to see our team looked after you well in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back after your next trip.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.