We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst to your Saves list
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“We will be back - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband & I stayed over the Easter long weekend in a deluxe studio king room. The Motor Festival was on during our stay which was great to watch from our balcony.

We have been to Barhurst on many occasions for the V8's & just general visits but this was our first stay at Rydges Bathurst.

On arrival we received exceptional service from the front desk staff & they were happy to accommodate our early check in.

Our room was very clean & had a great view. We had no problems with the room.

Breakfast in the Restuarant was perfect & again the staff were very pleasant.

Check-in & Check-out were easy which is always a good thing.

We will defiantly be back again!

Hollie & Steve.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Hollie2013 and thank you for your great review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Motor Festival, and you could enjoy the race from your balcony. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    155
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
99
105
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights whilst sight seeing in Bathurst. The room was awesome - the view just made my heart go nuts! I'm a huge fan of V8's and have grown up watching the great race - never been - but being there just was a dream.

The room was a little loud - thin walls maybe? Heard banging from rooms above and beside - was a little annoying when trying to sleep.

Room was beautifully presented. Modern and fresh, and the artwork was just awesome and truly fitting for the location.

Had a double charge issue due to a booking confusion - which was resolved swiftly upon checkout.

Can't wait to return. Oh! And we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the new age Wiggles! They were playing in town and being in our early 20's and having the previous Wiggles in our childhoods - it gave us a good giggle and smile :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi ZoeMelissa, and thanks for the great review! It is always good to welcome an avid race fan to the hotel and share the atmosphere of the Mount. I'm sorry that there was a double charge issue, however great it was fixed asap.

Thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being an avid motor racing fan, and having never been to Bathurst before, Rydges Mt Panorama seemed the logical place to stay, being located on the track itself.

Upon booking into reception, we were treated excellently, and told we were receiving a free upgrade. After staying with friends in Melbourne and Canberra, it was much appreciated to have space and privacy. We had booked a one bedroom apartment, with a sap.

We were given the keys to a 3 bedroom apartment of the thrd floor. It was a corner apartment, so we enjoyed views of Bathurst, Mount Panorama and the majority of the circuit.

Our room had a bathroom, 3 bedrooms, an ensuite (complete with spa) and full kitchem facilities. A massive (shared) deck spanned the full width of the front of the apartment.

The room was sparkling clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was isolated from outside noise.

I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi spauldj3800, and thank you for taking the time to review. It is great to read that you appreciated the upgrade to the apartment, and it made your stay even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I don't think I have ever bothered to write a review about anything... but felt the need for this one. My hotel stay here in February was awesome. I needed an early check in because I had a baby, and staff were so helpful and kind for anything that was asked. Nothing was a problem, they had the Aussie easy going attitudes. What lovely personnel!

From the nitty gritty to the big stuff, this hotel impressed me. It was the little things such as using organic/non animal tested toiletries to the big things -the fact that I could make my breakfast and a quick dinner after a long day. The room and bathroom was clean, the standard room a good size. The walls were thick enough for other rooms not to be heard. One major whinge I noted before I booked here was that the room service is expensive. To this I say blah, almost every hotels in Australia charges ridiculous room service prices. If you don't like it go to the supermarket and buy a frozen meal and use the microwave, it's that easy.

As a person who travels for work, I have stayed in hotels hundreds if not thousands of times so I am difficult to impress and highly critical. The worse I can say is that there being no lift to the very bottom level was slightly annoying - but most of the time you purposely chose these rooms anyway so whatever. It would also not be an ideal hotel if you didn't have a car as it's a decent walk into town.

I am happy to have booked a return trip in April! If you're staying in Bathurst and you have a car, stop hesitating and make a booking. The rates are pretty reasonable too (unless there are races on that is).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Kezj11, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was great to read that we inspired your first review, and you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in April.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and two children stayed for three nights in a Deluxe Studio room. The prices was very good, we joined the Rydges Club, which is free and we got 20% off the normal room rate. There was a full kitchen, king bed and lounge that folded out to sleep my two sons. The room also had a roomy bathroom with a spa. There was a second toilet off the kitchen which is meant to be a laundry, but no laundry facilities such a washing machine or dryer, not sure if there is a washing machine or dryer in other suites, but unfortunately not in ours. A large balcony outside also looks over the racetrack. We were there for a sporting event so didn't hand around the apartment very much. They have a tennis court, a swimming pool which we didn't see and I believe a gym. The restaurant is lovely and they also put on a pretty nice breakfast. There is undercover parking as well. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and for the price we paid which was about $145 for each of the two nights and $130 for the third night, you certainly cannot complain. There was a smell coming out of the bathroom sink, obviously something to do with dorment water, but apart from that I would highly recommend staying at the Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi leemacdee, and thank you for taking the time to review. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience at the hotel, including your dining experience in Chicane Bar & Grill.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the reception staff and lounge people were friendly and efficient. The room as expected was roomy, clean and comfortable and the veranda and view are pleasing. All the room facilities are those one would expect from a 4 star hotel...bed, bathroom, TV, safe, AC etc. The charges for Credit Card use and the particularly excessive charge for WiFi really lets this class of hotel down. It has to be unnecessary. One other small issue is the bar. The seating is not comfortable and is not conducive to a social drink and I was quite disappointed to find it closed and in darkness when I returned for a drink at 9.55pm on a Sunday evening. Nice Hotel but could be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Waddlerstrikesback, and thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff in both reception and the lounge (bar) area. We are working on making the bar area a more comfortable environment, so appreciate your comments.

In terms of the extra charges, we are inline with most other hotels, and our WiFi charges are very competitive with other hotels.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this ultra modern hotel right alongside the famous Mt Panorama Racing Circuit. Deluxe Studio room was spacious and very well equipped. Kitchen had full sized fridge, hotplate, oven, dishwasher. Lounge area was generous and well furnished, including comfortable seating and small dining table. Bed was comfortable, though a little softer than our preference. Bathroom was large and luxurious, though the space around the hand basin was cramped and not all that user friendly. Balcony was well sized with a small table and chairs and of course, it afforded magnificent views straight down onto Conrod Straight (I can't imagine how many years in advance you'd need to book to get a room here during race week!)

The staff were really great - smiling, friendly and very efficient. Check-in was quick and easy. We asked for several things to be brought to the room (plugs for the basins, extra wine glasses, etc) and these were delivered promptly and with smiles; we also asked for taxis to be ordered a couple of times and this was done graciously too. Five star rating to them all - Australian hotels don't always do service this well!

Only a couple of negatives - one being that the dinnerware in the room hadn't been checked for cleanliness before it was put away and most of the items were grubby, which was a bit off-putting. The Continental Breakfast was pricy and less than inspiring - cereal, fruit, toast and a scant collection of pastries; no cheese or cold cuts. At only $3 less than the full hot breakfast, it seemed to me to be poor value. In fairness, we've since discovered that the price is fairly standard at major hotels here. The final 'raspberry' concerns such a large hotel from a big chain whacking on credit card charges! 1.5% for visa/mastercard and a whopping 3.5% for Amex/Diners. Almost nowhere else in Asia does this and, while you can understand small places passing on such charges, a hotel of this standard (and charging the room rates it does!) should be able to absorb them.

Overall though, we enjoyed our stay and we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the race track!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi SisPerth, and thank you for the detailed review. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your room, and that our service was up to standard. We will take on board the comments about the crockery in the room, and ensure that it is a focus point brought up to the team. Unfortunate you didn't see the value in our continental breakfast, our muesli is prepared in house and usually gets rave reviews!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst

Address: 1 Conrod Straight | Mount Panorama, Bathurst, New South Wales 2796, Australia (Formerly Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Mount Panorama Bathurst Hotel Bathurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.