We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel to your Saves list
Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Orient St, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia (Formerly Mariners on the Waterfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice motel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here overnight in January 2014. Nice and clean motel with a great view. Being joined to a pub we thought it would be noisy but it wasn't too bad. A little expensive for what it is but we did stay in holiday season so only to be expected really.

The bistro attached to the motel has nice food and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the third floor for the most privacy as the rooms overlook the bistro eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
15
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel with a great view, a bit of a sleepy town not much open when we got there. Bar in the hotel seemed to be a local haunt does sell food. Ok for an overnight stay room had a smell when you went in but looks like a refurb is going on at the moment.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel. Batemans Bay is a small piece of untouched paradise on the quiet South Coast of New South Wales.
We renovated 50% of the accommodation rooms recently and will be looking into doing the rest in the coming future.
Both tourist and local enjoy the comfort of the Bistro/Bar and I encourage all to sit out on the deck with a glass wine or ale with some local Clyde River Oysters and enjoy life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and the hotel is in a great location, free under-covered parking, close to great eating places and easy walking. Room was very clean. Views of the Clyde River etc.

On the first night we could not get ABC and SBS (yes we are older farts). When we told the front desk the next morning a staff member came back to room with us and when he could not tune the TV to the ABC/SBS we were offered another room straight away. So great and friendly service.

No problem with noise seeing that it is a Pub as well, but weekends may be different.

Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for finding time to review Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel and we are terribly sorry the television wasn't working properly. I am also very happy that the issue was dealt with in a prompted manner and you were able to go on enjoying the rest of you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Perfect location especially if you like to walk along the waterfront or visit the shops (right on your doorstep) Our room overlooked the garden and waterfront with a large balcony. The room was large and clean. Would like to compliment the staff on their efficiency and friendliness, especially Rachel who was a joy, making sure we were happy with everything. The meals were terrific - Compliments to the Chefs. We ate breakfast and dinner there every day at very reasonable prices and enjoyed Happy Hour talking to the locals or visitors. We could not fault this place and will be visiting again as soon as possible. Wish we could have stayed longer. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us at the Mariners Waterfront. We take great pride in our customer service and all the staff go the extra mile to make our guests visit as comfortable as possible. We are also glad you enjoyed the dinning experience.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good view and clean, comfortable bed. Central location. Balcony was pleasant.The bathroom was very poor, with terrible water control for temperature and water pressure. The shower curtain is off-putting. A crack in the porcelain handbasin and appearance of grot around chrome at plug area was also unpleasant. The coffee and UHT milk was disappointing. We found the stairwell a problem...lugging luggage from car park (short flight of stairs to reception then another flight of stairs to first floor)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit with Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel. We are very sorry you didn't find you stay comfortable.
We have recently undergone renovations in 50% of the rooms and unfortunately you stayed in a un renovated room. We will be looking at finishing the renovation of the rooms in the near future and we hope you will come back and visit us and have a more enjoyable visit to the Batemans Bay region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night. For $100 we weren't expecting much..but we were suprised! The view couldn't have been any better, the bistro food was great ( we got the burgers, good feed) and the room was comfortable. It's in the perfect spot too! shops,pub/club on one side and the waterfront the other. If I had to pick at something I would say it was a quite noisy motel because the hotel
Is underneath most the rooms and it gets quite rowdy on a Saturday night, but if you're there to go out you'll probly be downstairs with them all partying! Definatly staying there again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
I would like to Thank you for your review of the Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel. We do have a Bar/Bistro onsite which is popular with tourists and locals and we encourage our guest to use all we have to offer. Soak up the view from the balcony with a glass of wine and fresh local Clyde River Oysters. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanberrA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend, was surprised great value for money.Great room with views on the coastline nice and quiet as well. Thanks will stay again in the quiet seasons as I know it can get a little noisy over long weekends ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath B, General Manager at Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the Mariners Waterfront and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel

Address: 31 Orient St, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia (Formerly Mariners on the Waterfront)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners On The Waterfront Hotel Batemans Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Waterfront Hotel & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.