We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard accommodation. Better values available closer to town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Drive Motel

Save Saved
You added Beach Drive Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Drive Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   24 Beach Rd, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Batemans Bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Standard accommodation. Better values available closer to town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This property offers a standard level of accommodation and amenities for its price range, however there are better values available closer to town within the same price range. Room was clean and comfortable, however no services are available within the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 1 nite only, when driving from Snowy Mountains to Sydney. We booked a very spacious Deluxe Room. The manager was very nice (had a very cute cat). The place was calm, very close to the sea. The only comment I would have is in terms of cleanliness - could be a little bit better.

Room Tip: It is probably better to book a bigger, Deluxe room, we did not see how a standard rooms look like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Excellent facilities, big rooms, friendly and helpful owner, great value for money. Would highly recommend this accommodation. We had two rooms booked for our travel party so we got to see more than one aspect of this accommodation and were well impressed with it all. Having contact with the helpful and enthusiastic owner also made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We walked into this motel after refusing to stay in the one we had booked further up the road. This motel was clean and tidy, albeit outdated furniture and decor. There were no cooking facilities of any note except a microwave but we couldn't find any plates or cutlery so there was little point in having that. The fridge was useful. It's centrally located and there is a useful laundry round the back provided which is free of charge.

Room Tip: Although on Beach Drive I am pretty sure there is no room that would give you a view of the lakes as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tidy budget motel run by friendly staff. Very easy to walk to town centre in just a few minutes. Free wifi! Clean, with fresh towels each day of you want them. Easy to find and a good base for exploring the area. A tip for those that stay - the power button for the TV is on the wall above the main bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This motel is literally across the road from the bay and is a five minute walk from the shops and restaurants of batemans bay. The deluxe double room was spacious however the shower was terrible and I don't think I felt clean the whole time I was there as I washed under a trickle of water. It was also quite noisy early in the morning due to buses and trucks driving up pacific st. All in all it was average but I thought a bit pricey for mid week at $122 given the type of motel it was.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Directed by the local tourist office, we went to the Beach Drive Motel in Batemans Bay where we were initially shown a small, very dated room for Aus$90 a night. We asked if we could upgrade and, for an extra Aus$20, took a large, well-furnished room in the new accommodation block at the back of the site - complete with table and chairs on the balcony where we could sit with our pre-dinner wine chilled in our own fridge. The bed was big and comfy; the shower room equipped with soft new towels and toiletries.
What made this motel stand out from the many others we stayed in during our trip was the attitude of the owner, Chris Crowe. He could not have been more welcoming and helpful to tired travellers. That extra Aus$20 was well spent and I am sure Chris will renovate the older rooms as soon as he can.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the basic rooms to much nicer ones in the new 2-storey block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Drive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Drive Motel

Address: 24 Beach Rd, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Drive Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach Drive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Drive Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.