We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value motel on waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zorba Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zorba Motel to your Saves list
Zorba Motel
15 Orient Street, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value motel on waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Zorba Motel is a very pleasant motel right on the waterfront at Bateman's Bay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and pleasant interiors. Very central for shops, restaurants and pubs of the town plus right on the promenade for walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a great motel!
The motel is right in the middle of Batemas Bay (in fact the first motel built in the bay) with all the shops, club and restaurants an easy walk.
The motel was built in the 70's so by todays standards the buildings looks dated, but dont be put off by this.
The rooms are large, spotlessly clean (especially the bathrooms) have very comfortable beds, decent sized fridge and if you book a view room have the best views in Batemans Bay. All of the staff that we had contact with were really friendly and happy to assist, with a very fast reply to our email booking request.
Being a Saturday night we were concerned that noise could be an issue (there is a pub next door) but this was not an issue.
All in all this is a great motel and worth a stay if you are in the bay.

Room Tip: Book a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my partner went to Bateman's Bay earlier this month for a friends wedding. We stayed at Zorba and it was a lovely place. We booked a room including breakfast and ended up with a family room, so plenty of room even though there were only the two of us. We didn't book a waterview room as we knew we weren;t going to be in the room much, so it would have been wasted on us. It was nice and clean and although we arrived early we were able to check in straight away. The only downfall I had was the bed, it was a little old and sunken in the middle but for one night it was fine. Staff were also excellent, polite and friendly. Definetley stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We just stayed at the Zorba for one night. Chose a family room without a view, but it was excellent! The room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was included in our rate and was great. This motel is handy to everything, being in the middle of town, but still nice and quiet. Great value for money and I will definitely stay there again when in Batemans Bay.

Room Tip: The 'family' room number 16 has a queen size bed, one single bed and a double futon. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you want a room with a great view over the spectacular waters of Batemans Bay this is it.
Basic and clean plenty of car parking,lots of good restaurants no more than 100 meters away.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor out of your balcony onto the grass across the lawn to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We only stayed one night in Batemans Bay, but the Zorba motel was a great place to stay. We paid the extra $5 a night to have a room that overlooks the water (which is < 50 yards from the motel). Well worth it. The rooms themselves are pretty basic, though it was nice having the balcony for most of the time. For the 5 minutes the guy in the next room was smoking on his balcony, no so nice.

While we did receive access for free wireless internet...the connection was so bad, it wasn't usable. No big deal to us, but if it's important to you, may be a problem.

Overall, nice location, good views and a good value.

Quick tip...eat at "The Little Restaurant and Bar" a block up the street, Great food.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 a night for a room with water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just had 2 nights staying at the Zorba Motel, our room was a waterview room with private balcony, although the rooms are rather "dated" they are exceptionally clean and well equiped and comfortable, plenty of parking outside and friendly staff, breakfast is available at the cafe at the end of the carpark which we both enjoyed each day, food was very good and good value for money, there is a microwave and toaster in the room along with the normal tea and coffee making facilities and air conditioning, flat screen tv, electric blankets, we will be back again for sure, well done to a family run motel since the 1970's,

Room Tip: most rooms have waterviews and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zorba Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorba Motel

Address: 15 Orient Street, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely 17 room motel situated right on the Clyde River in the middle of Batemans Bays Main Street (Orient Street). This motel was the first motel in Batemans Bay to open its doors to the public in 1972. And proudly boasts the same family owners. Wireless internet, secure car park and clean rooms. Excellent views, only a stone's throw from the water's edge. Has a huge backyard for the kids to play while parents enjoy a glass of red on their own private balcony by the river. Offers corporate, seniors and family rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zorba Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorba Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.