We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price, below average accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Waters Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Waters Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Bay Waters Holiday Resort
Cnr Kings & Princes Highway, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent price, below average accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July for a winter break. We booked a room that had water views, but really it was a view of some rough land/trees and the highway. It was very quiet when we were there, with low occupancy - which suited us as there is limited privacy from the balcony. The room is comfortable, but very basic. The standard of cleanliness was only OK.

There was also no clear path down to the water, we had to do a bit of bush bashing and jumping in order to get down to the water front, which doesn't make sense based on the hotels position.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    25
    6
    12
See reviews for
13
27
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed her one night recently passing through on way to Melbourne. Lady at reception needs some lessons on how to welcome clients. Arriving at 1.40pm - yes 20 minutes prior to checking in time is requested I arrived to an unmanned reception where you have to dial 9 on the phone to get some attention. When she made her way to the reception she stared at the clock and advised me that I was early, sorry hard to judge when you are on a road trip to not arrive prior to checking in time. On opening e door of our room it had that damp musty smell that's always a bit suspicious. Rooms are something from the 80's crying out for a bit of paint and TLC. The bed is the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in, typical U shaped mattress. If you factor in the cost of my chiro appointment to get back fixed after sleeping on this bed the price of the room isn't much a good deal. I have honestly seen better beds been thrown out at my local tip, is should come with a health warning, sleep on this at own risk! Don't expect WIFI in all areas as stated on website, there is none, on phoning reception I was informed it only works in reception area, but found out that this is not the case, do not advertise what you cannot deliver. The best part of our stay was checking out if this place, thank goodness it was only one night stay.

Room Tip: Ok if you are looking for very basic accommodation with very uncomfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in a River room just for the one night. The room was very clean and had a small outdoor area overlooking the Clyde River. Ate dinner in the Bay Waters Inn restaurant. Must rate with the top motel restaurants we have experienced. Excellent meal, many choices and reasonably priced. Even though they sold wine, we were encouraged to BYO, and with NO corkage fee. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The free breakfast was more than adequate, again with many choices of cereal and fruits. As it was a lovely morning, we ate on the balcony with a view over the river. If there were any drawbacks to staying, it would be that you may experience some traffic noise from large trucks crossing the Clyde River Bridge. Would be happy to stay there again, especially to eat in the restaurant!

Room Tip: The river rooms mostly have double beds, so if you want a queen size bed, the courtyard rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in a wonderful River room when on a recent business trip with 7 other colleagues. Found my room to be very clean, beds comfy, although a couple of my colleagues found their room to be unclean. The river rooms are in a bush setting overlook the beautiful river. Kept the heater running all night which drowned out the traffic noise from the bridge. The food in the restaurant is excellent, breakfast is very basic. Cheap budget accommodation, in a great location. Would stay there Gain.

Room Tip: Pick a river room if traffic noise does not bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed only one night at this place while on a trip to Melbourne, so we didn't need much more than a bed for the night and food. Unfortunately we only got one of those as there wasn't any food available when we arrived shortly after 8, either here or in the main town other than a 24 hour macca's or kfc (which closed at 9). It was a lowlight of our trip, and didn't improve when we made our way back to the room and found there was no heating so needed to pile blanket upon blanket upon the bed. In fairness the room was quite cheap, and would probably be a lovely spot in summer with all restaurants open and nice sunny weather. Unfortunately it did not suit what we were looking for, and in hindsight wish we had pushed on to another town or village to stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with heating if staying in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night recently.We had a river view room which was very clean and comfortable.The view from our room was great.The People in reception made us feel very welcome.
We caught the courtesy bus to the club for dinner and on returning we enjoyed a wonderful dessert and coffee by the open fire.We found the lady that runs the resturant very helpful and friendly.
It is obvious that the new owners are in the process of improving this resort and we will be definately be coming back.The location and value for money makes it a great place to stay in Batemans Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have had numerous trips to Bay Waters Inn and find this motel a great place to stay. It is affordable and practical, especially for a spur of the moment get away.
It is only a walk across the bridge and you find yourself in the centre of Batemans Bay.

We have had some of the best steaks ever at the motel restaurant and indulged in affordable drinks at the bar after dinner. The deck attached to the bar has a view of the bridge and the beautiful water that surrounds it.

My partner and I have stayed in the spa room and found it was excellent and relaxing. All you need for a nice trip away with your loved ones.

I have also visited with my friends a few times and stayed in the river rooms which we found very convenient!

People can be very picky, for down to earth people we loved the motel and will be visiting again very shortly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Waters Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waters Holiday Resort

Address: Cnr Kings & Princes Highway, Batemans Bay, New South Wales 2536 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Batemans Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Batemans Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Waters Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Waters Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.