We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azka Restaurant

Azka Restaurant
31 Marsh Street | Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Armidale, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 6773 7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 restaurants in Armidale
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
nsw Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

quick tapas and drinks before going out to a function. great service. Some of the tapas selections were great, some not so. Very comfotable. new leather lounges etc

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerhouseTamworth, General Manager at Azka Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
DearmarshfamnswAust

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our tapas menu changes frequently and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tapas on offer. Our tapas menu is the perfect way to start your evening!!
We look forward in seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards Mary Ryan-Garnett Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    23
    3
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for a special occassion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This restaurant is part of the Quality Hotel Powerhouse. Bit pricey, but food excellent and wait staff very professional and friendly - bit of a wait for food though. The decor is very Moroccan and the lanterns hanging from the ceiling provide a lovely atmosphere. You can order tapas in the bar area. Great for a special night out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerhouseTamworth, Manager at Azka Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Monaro50,

Thank you for taking the time to review Azka.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ryan-Garnett
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tapas are fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided not to eat in the restaurant but eat a selection of tapas, don't go past the koftas and the pate was the best we've ever had, and we've had some

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerhouseTamworth, Manager at Azka Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Azka Wine & Tapas Bar.
We do love to surprise our guests with our menus, especially with Tapas.
It's great to hear you enjoyed our Pate, which is home made, as well as our authentic Lamb Kofta.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ryan-Garnett
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best food you will ever find in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Every dish was something special. Best Oysters, Best fillet steak and with beautiful side dish of vegetables. Sublime dessert (small but exquisite). Quite expensive, equal to city prices or above. Bruschetta was on the very small side for the price. (compared to other restaurants). Food was cooked with 'care' and was special.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerhouseTamworth, Manager at Azka Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Howard,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Restaurant, Azka. It's great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us!

Kind Regards,

Mary Ryan-Garnett
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quality food with quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was great to be able to sit down to a quality meal that was not deep fried and covered with heavy sauces or oils.
The 'drinks' list is very extensive and it's good to see some regional/local wines promoted as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerhouseTamworth, Manager at Azka Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It's great to hear our service and cuisine is being appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Armidale.

Kind Regards,

Mary Ryan-Garnett
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azka Restaurant also viewed

Armidale, New South Wales
Armidale, New South Wales
 
Armidale, New South Wales
 

Been to Azka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azka Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.