We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Comfort Armidale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Comfort Armidale to your Saves list
Country Comfort Armidale
86 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Armidale
Sydney
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed two nights here, and would stay next time I am in town. Price was one of the cheapest in Armidale, and hotel was within walking distance to town. Plenty of parking another plus.

Restaurant Tip: The hotel restaurants is great and they offer room service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
16
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night for work. I must say the first thing I noticed about the room was the strange smell when I walked in, it did seem to fade later, but I am not sure if I just got used to it..
The rooms are basic. Bed was hard, but not so hard that it was uncomfortable.
The bathroom was very disappointing, very old and tired.
The rooms just felt unwelcoming with a mix between modern bed covers with old style room. The old breakfast chute has been sealed up next to the door, which gave me an indication of how old these rooms were.
The front desk girl was very helpful when I couldn't get my tv to work, and she recommended places to eat in town.
This hotel was basic and did the job for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to stay here if it was for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I recently booked this hotel for a trip to Armidale to attend a funeral. We were travelling with my parents, two uncles and my brother. I looked online then rang the hotel to ask about available rooms. The receptionist was quite unhelpful and not very good at calculating how much it would cost for the rooms.

I had a broken bedside lamp in my room and the young man from reception went out of his way to fix it, when that didn't work he bought another lamp so I could keep reading.

Overall the hotel was dated but a lot cleaner than more expensive hotels. Close to the city centre as well. We ate out each meal and many places are walking distance to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We find Armidale motels near CBD can fill rapidly. The CC is a good solid country motel. Our room had lots of space with a big window overlooking street. Standard motel fitout. It is within walking distance of CBD and restaurants. We enjoy the White Bull pub. Although rated 18th it is good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Yes, the decor is dated, the cheap carpet is covered in marks where someone's melted the iron into the floor and the curtains and lounge have holes in them but you still get great pressure hot water, microwave, toaster, two types of biscuits, real milk for your coffee and it's clean. It has no pretensions and doesn't strive to be anything other than it is - a clean and decent place to stay at a cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Basic Motel in need of an upgrade. Very noisy air conditioners in some units. No wi-fi offered and quite a distance to walk to CBD. We stayed 3 nights on a group tour en route to the Celtic Festival in Glen Innes from Canberra.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a modern airconditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

When we first arrived from our 9 hour trip we were very wound up but started talking to the lovely receptionist and started easing up. She couldn't do more for me she had arranged a taxi to pick us up for dinner and even suggested some nice restaurants due to the fact that there restaurant was shut. Our room was very nice and neat (very Clean, i really don't understand the other reviews because i didn't see any problems with it.) the breakfast in the morning was absolutely beautiful. We stayed for 4 days and it was very peaceful. I will Surely stay again and i will be telling all of my friends about this motel.

Room Tip: I found that the whole place is very quite of a night time. im abit of a night owl and go for walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Comfort Armidale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Armidale

Address: 86 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Armidale Hotel is set on a Victorian style cottage garden and is a quiet, friendly and very comfortable. We welcome you to stay at the charming Country Comfort Armidale Hotel in the heart of town offering quality accommodation with all the comforts of home. The splendid restaurant is complimented by its inviting bar and cosy fire-place and top quality chef and wireless internet broadband is available to all our rooms.The Country Comfort staff are both friendly and professional with an aim to make your stay a happy experience.Our accommodation is conveniently situated in the center of Armidale next to Central Park and only a 2 minute walk to the Mall, CBD and bus terminal for the University of New England. Our centrally located motel accommodation is only a very short stroll to Armidales clubs, pubs, restaurants and cafes.Armidale is situated mid way between Sydney and Brisbane on the New England Highway and just over two hours from Coffs Harbor and the Coast. Our region also boasts some of the most scenic short drives and fine wineries to make an enjoyable stop over. The city is home to many immaculately preserved historic buildings and cathedrals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Country Comfort Armidale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Comfort Armidale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.