We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Comfort Armidale

Save Saved
You added Country Comfort Armidale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Comfort Armidale
86 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 21 hotels in Armidale
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Don't understand the bad reviews for this place. Stayed here for 2 nights last easter in a spa suite and absolutely no complaints. We only paid $120 or so which was cheap as chips for having a spa in the room. Room was spacious, spa worked perfectly, bed was comfy, everything was clean, and the sauna was great. Maybe the other rooms aren't as nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
15
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom room for our family in January. Having dragged our luggage up to the room, it became increasingly clear that not a surface of the room was clean - granted the sheets were fresh and the bathroom had been washed over but the living spaces and bedroom were the worst I've seen. My husband went to the manager who stated that the room was clean and that what we saw were just 'stains'. It felt like there was not a surface we wanted to touch. We decided to leave with or without a refund [management did refund the money]. There are two parts to this motel, an older and newer part, and if you must stay there, we would suggest that you ask for the newer portion as images do not represent the reality. We have never felt the need to leave accommodation before. This was a first.

Room Tip: Ask for the new part if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A basic chain motel accommodation in Armidale, that I booked via Kayak since it was cheapest and convenient.

My room was large and comfortable, and well kept up but certainly not fancy. Easy parking and access off the main room. I arrived after hours and they'd left the key for me under the mat, making "checkin" really easy and painless.

Pay wifi is available but the rates were quite expensive. My room had 3G covered via Optus so I could easily use that data connection instead so it wasn't a problem.

Armidale as a whole seems a relatively sleepy place, and the motel was quiet enough to hear the birds cooing outside by window.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here on Christmas day on the way to family. We bboked through another website, however the managers were very prompt with their reply as to where to find the key to let ourselves in. A lot of other people seemed to be doing the same thing. (ie looking in the same places we did. Seemed like a treasure hunt).
So down to it...
There was a microwave, kettle and the usual condiments. If you are travelling and staying on Christmas day in Armidale, do yourself a favour. TAKE AN ESKY AND YOUR OWN FOOD THAT CAN BE COOKED IN THE MICROWAVE!!!! Even though a major thoroughfare, the only options open for any type of meals (we had a four year old with us), was a petrol station for pies or tins of spaghetti, or the thai next to kfc. The definition of Thai in that restaurant WAS interesting.
Back to the accommodation.
The single bed and queen were soft and comfortable, however I think after 2 or 3 days, we probably would have sought newer beds. the room was quiet, however the room next door decided to talk loudly and smoke outside our door and the noise/smell invaded the room... Not the fault of the motel, just the inconsiderate neighbours.
The bathroom, as for the main room needs updating, but had wonderful pressure in the shower. Everything was clean, spotless. There are soap and shampoo dispensers provided, but who uses those. As a female, always bring your own.
The only thing Country Comfort could do to improve our overnight, exhausted travellers experience would be to:
a) have a restaurant open or meals that can be ordered to the rooms on a holiday that the rest of the town is closed
b)include "no smoking" policy to the car park so that people do not smoke outside your room.
c) Country Comfort has always had a reputation for being a value for money "country" hospitality accommodation venue. We would have loved to have seen a bit of care taken with the decore, paint, tacky 1970's "bedspreads." We were only staying there over night, but for the price, were were glad to not have stayed in the budget rooms for any longer.

Room Tip: If staying overnight, probably ask for a quiet room, away from other guests and at the back of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

a great little place to stay in Armidale. Cheap and still retaining a sense of value for money.
comfortable bed, a tad noisy when motel is full and neighbours get chatty, but a nice place to stop when visiting the beautiful surroundings of the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The good things: Nice and quiet area, clean, basic but good value.
The bad things: Pretty packed and can hear people talking in carpark outside of door; the bed was really uncomfortable and made a well as you sunk into it; shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers were empty (so bring your own!).

Room Tip: Maybe try upstairs rooms, to get less noise from people in car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Turned up and was greeted by a very nice man at reception who was very eager to help. I'd spotted a deal on wotif.com for $78 so he went on the site and was happy to honor the price even though it was usually $85.

The room was clean and very spacious with a queen and an extra single bed. We had a good nights sleep, no problem with any noise and woke up to an amazing shower.

The room did look a little worn but everything worked perfectly.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Comfort Armidale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Armidale

Address: 86 Barney St, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Armidale Hotel is set on a Victorian style cottage garden and is a quiet, friendly and very comfortable. We welcome you to stay at the charming Country Comfort Armidale Hotel in the heart of town offering quality accommodation with all the comforts of home. The splendid restaurant is complimented by its inviting bar and cosy fire-place and top quality chef and wireless internet broadband is available to all our rooms.The Country Comfort staff are both friendly and professional with an aim to make your stay a happy experience.Our accommodation is conveniently situated in the center of Armidale next to Central Park and only a 2 minute walk to the Mall, CBD and bus terminal for the University of New England. Our centrally located motel accommodation is only a very short stroll to Armidales clubs, pubs, restaurants and cafes.Armidale is situated mid way between Sydney and Brisbane on the New England Highway and just over two hours from Coffs Harbor and the Coast. Our region also boasts some of the most scenic short drives and fine wineries to make an enjoyable stop over. The city is home to many immaculately preserved historic buildings and cathedrals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Comfort Armidale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Comfort Armidale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.