We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens
34 Marsh Street, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Armidale
Glenwood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Our room smelt very strange, as though it was an ex-smoking room that they'd tried to mask. The spa bath was great. We were told the restaurant would have breakfast but in the morning there was a sign up saying it was closed for breakfast. We had to go to McDonalds which was the only place open at that time on a Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Unfortunately could only stay one night, comfy, clean,quiet, nicely decorated, queen size room, reasonably priced. Had drink by the fire near the bar, very relaxing then ate in the restaurant. Delicious meals, good service and reasonably priced as well. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banora Point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely couple own and run this motel . Beautiful Manor restaurant and bar . Very classy .
Beautiful rooms . I stayed twice in the last 2 weeks . Two different rooms and both equally lovely .
Very clean and every nice little touch that's makes a stay special .
Breakfast in the restaurant was really great .
The owners offer wonderful hospitality . They're truly lovely people with genuine kindness .
I just can't say enough good about this place and the people there.
Highly recommended .
Thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here on our return from a Christmas Holiday break and were very impressed. I stay at many motels and am confident to say that Cotswold Gardens was one of my best experiences for some time. The room showed attention to detail; it was very comfortable, clean and spacious, with super comfy beds. You also have the ability to leave the windows open through the night for fresh air and still have a quiet night’s sleep, if you don't require the aircon. This motel has a welcoming homely feel as soon as you arrive with beautiful park like grounds. The hosts John & Denise could not do more for us, as we arrived with a trailer; we even received guided parking from John. It is nice to arrive at your destination following a long drive with this type of hospitality and then be able to sit down in a charming licensed restaurant for a delicious meal. The buffet breakfast was great also with plenty of choices, including fresh fruit and nice coffee. The Cotswold Gardens stop over completed our great holiday and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Armidale.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koeln, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a pretty good stay at Cotswold Gardens and the manager was very welcoming and friendly. From the pictures on the internet we expected a bit more of a garden setting but in the end it is a motel at the side of a pretty busy road. The breakfast room is very nice, the rooms we stayed in were a bit tired but clean. We slept well, there wasn't much road noise, and the breakfast was very good. Overall a pleasant stay for a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Cotswold Gardens Best Western on two separate occassions now. We took a chance this time and did not book ahead and luck was with us and we were able to get a room at around 4pm at a very good rate. The room was roomy and comfortable. It was great to find a toaster and even a coffee plunger (with coffee) so we were able to make our own breakfast and be on our way early the next morning. This motel has a charming olde world building as its central restaurant/bar where you can have dinner and breakfast. As we were just passing through this time we did not use the facilities. The only down side I could see was the parking spaces. Because of the configuration of the rooms, you cannot always park outside your room if the motel is full or near full.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Grossly overpriced and very dated, I have stayed in places which have old world charm and they were beautiful but this just didn't measure up. The restaurant was very average I certainly would not stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens

Address: 34 Marsh Street, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Armidale
Armidale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cotswold Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.