We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Well Kept Local Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Fish Bowl

Gold Fish Bowl
Jessie Street, Armidale, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Armidale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Pizzas only available Fridays. Breakfast and lunch daily (except Sunday)
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Local Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Tucked away on the periphery of the Armidale CBD is the Gold Fish Bowl. The fact that you have to make the effort to go and find it's packed is a key indicator of the quality of the experience.
The sourdough breads, pastries and food are all baked on site.The coffee is roasted on site and the coffee is pretty damn good.
If you are early make sure you try a Portuguese tart and Saturday a fruit tart. These are only made on the weekend when the owners dad has time to make them.
The decor is eclectic and recycled the food is sourced from organic suppliers with as low food miles as possible. The staff are very friendly and obliging as are the patrons. The place is kid friendly and the service great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Armidale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As well as the best bread anywhere! Pizzas on Fridays are to die for! In fact this applies to all meals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A MUST do on any trip to Armidale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for breakfast (based on a recommendation from a friend) and we were not disappointed. Service is outstanding & the vibe of the
place is really positive - the staff were having such a good time & their enthusiasm & positivity was contagious. Food was beautiful & the fresh roasted coffee strong & punch you in the jaw, with a velvet finish. This bakery wood fires all of their goods & we grabbed some Portuguese egg tarts for the road. My only wish? We'd bought more. I'll be raving about these for months. We will be back & we'll be
telling all of our friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best cafe in the world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is the Taj Mahal of coffee spots. Fire-baked bread and pastries, organic local food and produce, friendly service, chilled out atmosphere, and not a lazy eye in the house!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coffee Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Coffee in a funky bakery cafe, cool music. Breakfast was tasty and the coffee (which they roast themselves) amazing

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Fish Bowl also viewed

Armidale, New South Wales
Armidale, New South Wales
 
Armidale, New South Wales
Armidale, New South Wales
 

Been to Gold Fish Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Fish Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.