We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms, Comfortable & Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armidale Pines Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Armidale Pines Motel to your Saves list
Armidale Pines Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   141 Marsh Street, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Armidale
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Large Rooms, Comfortable & Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at this motel on average once a month for last four to fives years. The attractions of this motel are;
1. Large comfortable rooms that have small kitchenette, so if you wish to self-cater while on business trip or save money while holidaying. The kitchenette contains, cutlery & dinnerset plus microwave, toaster, kettle and items to assist in cooking in microwave.
2. Large comfortable queensize beds. There are Sony iPod/iPhone docking station/sounds system with built in radio instead of a cheap bedside clock/radio.
3. Nice lounge and dining table so you can stretch out and relax at end of day and if you are there on business there is a good decent size work-desk. There are also plenty of powerpoints to plug in and charge computers, phones and cameras etc
4. Good modern bathroom with plenty of space and good accessories.
5. Good location, easy walk to an number of very good eateries and if self catering an easy walk to the supermarket and liquorshop. Also easy walking distance to a gym and to the large central park of Armidale which has a great walking/running pathway that is great for the joggers or walkers.
6. Wonderful attentive owners of the property who run the place very well and provide very good service and advice on local area. I believe the room rate charged is very good value for money.

The motel doesn't have a pool or a restaurant, but as there are plenty of choices of good eateries close by and if a swim iss on your plans then the municapal pool is about 2 kilomtres away, but it would be nice in summer if this property had a pool but no room on property for one! (only the very keen would want to swim in a pool in an Armidale winter!!!). There is plenty of parking but spaces can be on the tight side for large four vehicles, not to manouver into just width of space between each of the cars but similar to lots of other carparking places.

A good quality breakfast can be ordered for room service and from experience if you order a hot meal for breakie it is good quality and value.

Over the years I have stayed in most of the rooms in this property and it doesn't really matter which one you end up in. There is one disabled room and if you have trouble with stairs then ask for a room at ground level.

I can speak with experience about comparing this property to other motels in Armidale, as I have stayed at a number of other motels in the city over the years and the Pines is by far my favourite and FIRST PREFERENCE EVERY TIME whether I am in Armidale for business or personal reasons.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kurri kurri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November 2012 for a week, the rooms are nice but the customer service was terrible the Manager charged us a extra $150.00 cleaning fee which was wrong as we hardly stayed there as we were at nsw childrens cricket all day, also for 2 days they did not clean at all as by the time they got to our room it was 4.00pm and we where just getting home, we ate out every night and did use the kitchen we only slept and showered at the room, so for him to charge us a extra $150.00 for cleaning was a rip off we usually stay about 8 hotels every year as our children play rep sports and we have never had any problems at any hotels when I tried to talk to him about the extra cleaning charge he said it was in the guest book that if they think the room is extra messy they can charge additional $150.00, since all they had to do was make the beds and put the vacumn around I found this to be unfair, I belive he charged us the extra money because he knew we had money therefore thought we would not care, if you look at earlier comments on this hotel on trip advisor you will see that this is a pattern of behaviour, since my experience with this hotel I have joined trip advisor so i can check hotels before booking.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms, central location, great value. Very helpful owners. We had to book extra accommodation upon arrival for a colleague and brian was extremely helpful. Thx for looking after us :)........................

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comforts that you only get at home the pines is a beautiful motel with great facilities and lovely owners.. Very large rooms compared to other motels well built nothing dodgy here. Close to all pubs shops everything you need is close by

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were accidental tourists in Armidale, & having already had a bad stay @ another motel, we were keen for cleanliness & comfort. We found the Armidale Pines by walking past, and the pretty, tidy exterior was a good indication of the rooms. Each unit is VERY spacious, & designed with comfort & convenience in mind. All fittings are modern, and soft furnishings are new and clean with some small country touches. The kitchenette & work areas were very useful during our stay, as was the guest laundry! The flat screen TV's pivot out from the wall - a thoughtful detail meaning you can watch the complimentary Foxtel from the couch or the bed depending on your preference. The welcome was warm & genuine, & the hosts went out of their way to accommodate our requests. We couldn't fault this motel, & thoroughly recommend you inspect one of these rooms before you make your choice on where to stay in Armidale.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised by the size and cleanliness of the rooms. The room had a small kitchenette (microwave, toaster, jug etc) and a large space with lounge and tele so you didn't have to sit or lay on the bed to watch TV> it was new and modern. The staff were helpful. It does not have a restaurant yet it is so close to great little restaurants (walking distance (1-5 minutes). Good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. We were impressed with the helpful and friendly service right away. The room was excellent and very spacious with a kitchenette included. A late checkout was no problem. The position is perfect. Just 2 minutes walk to everything. 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armidale Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armidale Pines Motel

Address: 141 Marsh Street, Armidale, New South Wales 2350, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Armidale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Armidale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armidale Pines Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armidale Pines Motel is ideally located next door to MacDonald's right in the city centre. Featuring luxurious accommodation and good, old fashioned service all within an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The main town mall is less than 250 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Armidale Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armidale Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.