We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful warm country welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn to your Saves list
Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   736 Logan Rd | Lavington, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful warm country welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After driving in torrential rain for 2 days we decided to spend the night in Albury rather than push on home. Using Tripadvisor as my guide, I rang the Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn and spoke to the wonderful Justina. A room, and cooked breakfast, was quickly arranged - all very easy.

When we arrived at 8.30pm I was attended to by Travis who informed me that the keys were in our room and he'd put the lights on for us and the heater had been going for a couple of hours. He offered us a clear map of Albury and highlighted where the main restaurant precinct was.

The room was spacious with plenty of room for myself, husband and 12 year old daughter. The addition of a small dining table and chairs was very welcome as was the super quiet location and the comfortable bed.

The entire room, including the bathroom, was spotless and excellent value for money. Our hot breakfasts arrived this morning and were more than sufficient and well cooked. Hubby went over to reception this morning and asked for more milk and Travis happily responded with a small bottle of real milk! A massive difference from the UHT milk from the Melbourne hotel the night before.

It was the little things that made this break in our trip not just pleasant, but enjoyable. Highly recommended and we won't bother staying anywhere else in future.

Room Tip: Family room with a queen and 1 single gives you more than sufficient space with a small kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review DrTard.
We always like to present a room that is clean, and pre-heated in winter, and pre-cooled in summer for our guests comfort. To walk into a room and relax after long drive, without having to wait for the heater to get going, is a small thing, but we feel very important, especially for those guests, such as yourselves, who have children.
Thank you for you comments about breakfast, and real milk is another small thing we like to provide for our guests comfort. We feel that the small things, without 'cutting corners' make our guests stay with us, just that little bit better. The test for us is, would we like it? It was a short stay, but hopefully another time, you and your family could stay with us again, spending some more time in this great part of the world, and discover what the surroundings has to offer.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    99
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
107
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in the family room for one night on the way to Sydney and was pleasantly surprised. Room was huge and for $128 per night including breakfast for 4 people was fantastic value. Travis was very welcoming and even had the heater going in the room for us when we arrived. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Densand.
Having pre-purchased your room under our Advance purchase package, you saved 10% on your room. This is a great idea when you book ahead, 21+ days in advance, for the budget conscious traveler, or for those who are wanting to get a bargain. It is available on all of our room types and since introducing this several months ago, it has proved very popular.
Having you room pre-heated in winter is something we always like to do for our guests, as it is something we would like done for ourselves when travelling.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked a spa room about 3 hours out from Albury. The room was huge, clean and very well presented. When I got there they had preheated the room which was very nice of them.
This hotel also offers as standard free Breaky and WIFI. In Australia this is not common and it was a great deal maker when looking for a hotel.
Well done guys will come back as we pass through again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review John.
It was great having you stay with us, we enjoyed our chat.
The spa rooms are very popular, and are independently rated 4 stars with AAA Tourism.
After a long drive, you deserve to walk into a pre-heated room in the middle of winter as a minimum we believe.
The buffet breakfast and WiFi is all included, and our most of our guests appreciate this during their stay, as it is very handy.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area next. Thanks John.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Motel was very clean, great location and very quiet, had an excellent night's sleep.
Made to feel very welcome, which was appreciated after a long drive, the heater was on in the room when we arrived.
A little more car parking space near the front could help.
The buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Warren.
Having our rooms well presented is very important to us. After a long drive, to walk into your pre-heated room in winter so you can sit down and relax straight away, is what we believe it is all about. For those visitors who like tranquility, peace and quiet, our location certainly provides that, yet only 2 turns from the freeway, and 5 minutes from the CBD. We feel you get a little bit of the best of both worlds when staying with us.
Interesting comment about the car parking. It could always be bigger I suppose, however, we sometimes host bus groups, and many guests with trailers, who do not seem to have much issue with it, and the size of our car park would have to be larger than the average car park size compared to other accommodation providers. We would be interested to hear in more detail about your experience. Is that possible?
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our small children, called up and spoke with Travis and made a booking, he was very polite and very welcoming when we arrived.
Very clean, heaps of space, would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Hayley.
It was great having you and your family stay with us. Being set on a large property, with a children's playground and lots of grass around, makes it a family friendly motel to stay at whilst in the area.
We really do enjoy having families stay with us, both for short and extended visits.
We hope to see you again and thank you for saying with us.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location is quiet, overlooking rural views, away from major roads and traffic.
Travis and Justina are welcoming.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and well presented.
Room service meals are tasty, as ordered and on time.
Facility offers good value for money in the two standards of room fitment and amenities.

Room Tip: All rooms have a north facing aspect and are well lit and spacious. Standard rooms overlook farmla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Michael.
It is always a pleasure to see you when you stay with us. We understand nothing is like home, but we always try to provide an atmosphere that is close to it, where possible. Cleanliness and comfort is a priority for us, and also we feel it is always important to provide good value for money, both when staying in our 3.5 star, and 4 star spa rooms. We feel that our included breakfast and unlimited access to the WiFi helps with this.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was happy to find a nice, comfortable & friendly place to stay when travelling to Albury for work. Hume Country Motor Inn always provides great service, even arrived to my room with the heater going and lights on after a long day driving! Highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMI2640, Owner at Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Amanda.
We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We always try to treat our guests like we would like to be treated ourselves. A nice warm room, lights on helps give our guests that feeling of home, when they are staying with us, especially after a long drive.
Thank you for staying with us, and good luck in your new venture.
Regards Travis & Justina Breheny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn

Address: 736 Logan Rd | Lavington, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Albury's Quietest Motel' the Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn is located in Albury, a 5-minute drive from the CBD. The hotel offers a seasonal outdoor pool, free WiFi and FREE continental breakfast.Rooms at the Hume Country Motor Inn are spacious and feature modern decor with all having new window furnishings installed recently. All Ground floor rooms come with free parking in front and a patio. A kitchenette is available in all rooms. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool or arrange day trips at the tour desk. The hotel provides a children's playground and newly renovated Guest Laundry. The Bunya Room serves a daily light buffet breakfast. Breakfast can also be delivered to the rooms. Dinner is served everyday. Drinks are available at the reception and mini bar in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowner Hume Country Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.