We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chow Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chow Shop
4/510 Smollet St, Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 126 Restaurants in Albury
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

After a long, tiring drive from Melbourne in pouring rain, we raced into Chow Shop at 8.45 on a Saturday night. Woks were already clean and tables packed up. Even though we told the cook not to worry, he cheerfully threw together some fried rice and 2 dishes - all for under $30.00. Flavour was awesome and serve size was great!

Worth finding (up a little lane way just past the big pay parking place).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forster
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Looked this place up on TA and yes it's hard to find, down a little side lane. Worth looking for tho. The owners are lovely and the meal great. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It may be hard to find but it is well worth finding. Very friendly service and the food is fantastic. We will continue to go back to The Chow Shop. Good on you Chow Shop!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff here were really friendly, upon walking in we were straight away greeted and offered a menu. My partner and I each ordered a take away noodle dish and the first thing we both noticed was how generous the portion sizes were. So I thought "OK, this means nothing until it passes the taste test". Turns out they both passed with flying colours, they were delicious. Not super oily either unlike at some other places. My partner was too full to finish hers so I was very obliging in finishing it for her!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

More than happy to serve us although we inadvertently wandered in 15 minutes after closing time. Fresh ingredients visible. Very pleasant people.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Shop also viewed

 
Albury, New South Wales
Albury, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Chow Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chow Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.