We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beds....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% with Visa Card
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic beds....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night in one of the Twin rooms. The room was pleasant, not exactly WOW factor but still clean, modern. Bathroom was fairly new. The best aspect was the bed was SOOO incredibly comfortable. Usually nothing beats our bed at home but this did. Excellent night's sleep after such a long drive. WiFi free, (as it should be - country towns recognise the need for this more than city hotels!), with good signal and fast connection speed.
Good tea tray complete with biscuits.
Reception staff were great.
Only one downside - we paid to have cooked breakfast included and this was the most revolting breakfast we have ever had anywhere. The scrambled eggs, poached eggs, bacon and sausages had been left in warmers and were not cooked fresh. The bacon was shrivelled. The eggs were all hard and rubbery. My son ordered pancakes, which was the only decent meal out of the 3. My husband and I both had stomach pains after eating the breakfast. After extensive travelling this is the only place I have found that can't manage a freshly cooked breakfast.
I would definitely stay here again but would not eat at the Hovell Bar and Grill. I hear that Rydges does great breakfasts. Next time I will stay at Best Western but go to Rydges to try breakfast.

Room Tip: At reception they said all the rooms are renovated. If we didn't need the 2nd bed would have op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear dazman_family,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodation especially our Pillow Top bed ( we do sell these to the public at a great discounted price )

We were surprised to see your comments about our breakfast though. All items are cooked fresh to order, we do not serve a buffet breakfasts unless requested by coach groups which is not very often, and even then it is only for the coach group. We certainly do not have food sitting in warmers, so I'm not sure where that came from ??

Not enjoying your breakfast aside, we were glad that you enjoyed other aspects of our property and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hopefully you will give our restaurant another go and let us show you what a great breakfast we do cook.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    94
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
57
108
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I was extremely unimpressed with the rude receptionist (Sally). After driving 4hours interstate for a friends wedding I was extremely annoyed when we were told we couldn't check in. I had booked this hotel as it was advised (reception held there). We were told our room was not ready and we had to get ready in the rest rooms! Complete joke.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Aims_Rich,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

We were very surprised at your comments regarding Sally, Sally is one of most experienced staff and we never hear anything but great feedback about her.

In relation to arriving and your room not being ready, I do see that you arrived to checkin before midday. Our checkin time is 2pm as stated in the confirmation that was emailed to you when the reservation was made. When people do request an early checkin, we always endeavor to have the room ready at the requested time, but I do note that there was never a request made with your reservation.
As you mentioned, we were holding a wedding reception here, there were numerous guests staying with us that were attending the wedding. The vast majority of these guests had indeed requested an early checkin so our housekeeping department were working tirelessly to get these rooms ready so we could aim to accommodate those requests.
Sometimes we get lucky and every guest from the night before checks out earlier in the morning allowing us to get into the rooms early to get them clean for arrivals that day, sometimes we are not lucky and guest do not check out until around the 10am checkout time which leaves us little time to get all of our early arrivals prepared and then get stuck into the remainder of our rooms.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused, and we are sure that Sally would have done all she could to have your room prepared as soon as possible.

If you are ever travelling through Albury again, we would like the opportunity to show you what a great property we are.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived late in the day, tired after driving all day. The receptionist was so welcoming and
both girls were so helpful with driving directions the next day and suggesting where to go
for dinner. The room was great - 2 large king beds and all we needed plus more. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thanks for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

We were very pleased to see that your all round experience was great from checkin to checkout, that's what we aim for.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while driving from Melbourne to Sydney. Looked very nice from the outside. Was a little disappointed at check in as the receptionist seemed to be very rushed and swiped my card and gave me my room key. Didn't say much else than that. Would of likes some more information about the hotel, especially when it was late evening and there were no other guests in the foyer.

I must say I was very surprised at how wonderful the room was, very clean, well furnished and very modern. While not used by me at the time of stay, they had excellent facilities. Hope to stay again, maybe for 2-3 nights to truly enjoy the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear tm1983,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you weren't offered any information on check in, but it was to great to see that you found your room to be wonderful.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, hopefully for a longer period so you can enjoy all the facilities that we offer.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahroonga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently drove from Sydney to Melbourne with my daughter & stayed overnight @ Hovell Tree Inn in Sth Albury. Room was huge with 2 Queen beds. Had dinner in the restaurant which offered a good choice of meals @ good prices. we had breakfast the following morning & again excellent choice. Overnight stay with dinner & breakfast for 2 people was $249. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mary H,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be good value.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here last year on our way to Melbourne and were so pleased we booked again! We had an executive room which is a little larger. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with loads of space. Any communication with the front desk either by phone or face to face was efficient and seamless. The staff are great.
We decided to have dinner in the restaurant and what an unexpected surprise it was. The food was amazing. Wait staff were pleasant but not properly trained. Reaching across my husband to pass me a knife and fork is not what you expect in a restaurant...it isn't McDonalds!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Jacki S,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We were please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, found the food to be amazing and the staff to be helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here overnight on another business trip.
Booked an apartment style room, plenty of room, great comfy bed, spa in bathroom, but shower over spa was a water saving type and the water pressure and volume was greatly reduced, I nearly had to run around to get wet!
Otherwise very clean and tidy room.
One of my mates who lives locally recommended the restaurant at this motel, he had eaten there previously.
We ate at Broadgauge in the Wodonga.
It was very very good.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Rod G,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We were please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed comfy.
Perhaps next time you stay you will try our restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Address: Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Ablury Hovell Tree is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Albury Hovell Tree is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Albury Hovell Tree features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer Free Austar, Mini Bar, Data Port, Hair Dryer, Tea and Coffee Facilities with Toaster, Individual Reverse Cycle Air Conditioner, Full Size Ironing Board and Iron, Disabled room on request, Balconies on request, Guest Laundry, Wireless / Broadband internet. All Rooms are Non Smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.