We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, Cleaning Staff sadly let it down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% with Visa Card
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Great property, Cleaning Staff sadly let it down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Regularly we stay at this property. The hotel premises and reception staff cannot not be faulted. However the cleaning staff either do not care 1 jot or they are not allowed enough time to clean the rooms properly.

Upon arrival, entering the bathroom, the floor was saturated and looked like it had just been flooded. Someone's used tissue was beside the bed. A jacket, not ours, was in the wardrobe.

The bathroom floor, when reported, was duly cleaned. Upon our return, the jacket had been removed from the wardrobe, yet it had not, at that time, been reported. Mysterious?

Later in the evening, feeling like a glass of wine in our room, I took two wine glasses from the cupboard. Only to find they still had old wine stains in them. The lovely staff fixed this problem, and provided us with sparkling clean new ones. Problem solved. Of the two water glasses in the cupboard, one was clean, the other was somewhat fingerprinted.

Perhaps it is policy not to dust every day, in the room, so there was a layer of dust, in which I could etch my name, on the bedside table and on the tv set.

On departing on the first of our two mornings in the hotel, I placed a 'please make up my room' sign on the door at 9am. This was done to let the cleaning staff know that its incumbents had left the room.

I returned to the room just after 1pm to find that the room had not been made up at all. Not that it had to be, but why put the sign for use if it is to be ignored by the staff.

Normally I like to take minor issues up with the management. On this occasion, one thing after another seemed infuriating. Thus this review.

I reiterate, this is a nice property, with good reception staff and very pleasant people to deal with. It is sadly let down with either it's cleaning staff or its cleaning policy. Especially for a Best Western PLUS hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Blossom55,

Thank you for staying with us again and for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to see that you are still enjoying our property and that the service received from reception and the food and beverage staff is still good.

Unfortunately it seems we missed the mark with the cleanliness of your room.

I do recall that last time you stayed with us though, when you were checked in we did advise that the floors had just been mopped in your room, and when you asked we did come up with clean towels and dry the floor off for you.

We appreciate guests putting their 'Please Make Up Room' signs on the door as it does let us know that the guest is out and would like their room done, as a policy we do our checked out rooms first so that we do have them ready for the next guests to check in and then we move on to all of our other rooms. This is mainly done as most signs appear on the door around 9am and the vast majority of guests dont come back to the property until 4pm. If a guest requests that their room is done early as they will only be out for a short while, we certainly do our best to get their room done.

With regards to the dusting it most certainly is policy to dust our rooms everday. We do have time allocations for cleaning rooms, but at no stage do we push our housekeepers to go faster to the detriment of the cleanliness of our property.

We have just added extra staff to our housekeeping team which will reduce the workload of our existing staff, we are also conducting extra room checks in the afternoons before check ins arrive.This will make sure that the rooms are being cleaned to the level they should be and that we remain the best property in Albury.

Thank you again for staying with us and for posting your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    94
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
57
108
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My elderly uncle and I stayed here for one night in a 2 bedroom apartment (no 18). Parking is not allocated. It is undercover outside and you don't need to swipe to get access. It may be a bit of a walk (depending on how agile you are) so ask at reception where you should park to be closest to your room. There is a lift but it is quite old and very slow but we weren't in a rush. The gym was simple but adequate. The foyer, corridors and entrance downstairs are nothing special to look at. Downstairs (ground level, where the parking is) looked pretty untidy because of what looked liked renovations (materials and debris around). The apartment however was clean and modern in design, comparing to much more expensive hotels. There was a flat screen TV in the lounge and each of the bedrooms. The heating worked well and it was easy to call reception to get the password for a wireless connection. The phones were a cheap horrible light plastic but did the job. The bathroom was ideal for older guests because there is no rim to step over to get into the shower.
All in all it was very pleasant staying at this motel although the exterior and presentation of everything, except the interior of the rooms, is pretty average. The apartment we stayed in was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask reception where the lift is so you can park as close as possible because it can be a bit of a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear 30yroAustralianFem,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to see that your room had everything you required during your stay and that you would compare our rooms to much more expensive properties.

The debris in the carpark is from our recent renovations, we are slowly but surely getting it all cleaned away as we complete the renovations of the common areas of the property.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next vist.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed at this inn overnight and was not expecting anything special as I knew it was a Best Western inn not a five star hotel. It served the purpose for my visit. Was pleasantly surprised by the rooms! They were modern with very comfortable bedding. Staff at the hotel were exceptional, very helpful and friendly. Inn is close enough to town and near a park. All in all would recommend if you are looking for a place as a stay over when in Albury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Suek58,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our fantastic new renovated rooms and also that you enjoyed the bed.
We have had so many people asking us about the beds that we are now selling them direct to guests that want to enjoy the same sleep experience at home.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Albury

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here just before Easter and it was great. The room was clean and comfortable and it was easy to find the hotel.
The breakfast in our room wasn't so fantastic. It was pretty mediocre with no butter or margarine provided so dry toast on ordinary supermarket bread. Just didn't really match the price paid.
However we would stay here again as it is very clean but would probably skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear bethybobs,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read your comments about your room.

We were however very disappointed that your breakfast was not up to scratch for your stay. I have taken your review and spoken to our kitchen team about the issues you raised and we are commited to ensuring no one else has the same experience.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to showing you the changes we have made on your next visit to Albury

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Was given an upgrade to a apartment at no extra cost, room was awesome, just a bit cool, took a while to warm it up.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Aussieyoshi,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

Its great to read when people have been upgraded and they really enjoyed the room.

Unfortunately heating does take a little while at the moment because of how cold the weather is, but we have installed all new Air cond / heating as part of the refurbishments so once the heaters do start up they go very well.

I am also happy to say that you won't have to request a refurbished room as all of our rooms are now refurbished.

thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hovell Tree on your next visit to Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I visit Albury from time to time on business and had stayed in a range of accommodation which varied from simply awful to what could best be termed average.My introduction to the Hovell Tree Inn changed all of that. A hotel that is well presented, has clean, stylish, comfortable and spacious rooms (with refurbishments currently being undertaken) and generally friendly and competent staff is an absolute joy. My only problem is that they are frequently fully booked so if my bookings haven't been made well in advance I am back to the tender mercy of the other local offerings which are never as good.
Not only is the hotel of a consistently high standard but they have a restaurant that is also of a consistently good standard. A relatively small menu but usually with some interesting dishes is worth the visit. The Hovell sausages and mash are a great experience as the sausages are purpose made for the restaurant and are as good as any I have ever eaten. The only criticism I have of the restaurant is that the service while friendly is sometimes a little too relaxed and can take longer than necessary - frustrating for a single diner who has work to do later in the evening.

Room Tip: Any of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear GMA1950,

Thank you for staying with us and for postin a review on Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you rate our accommodation and restaurant so highly.

I will have a sit down with my restaurant staff and bring up your concerns about the service being a little too relaxed.

Thank you again for staying with us and leaving a positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Albury

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I wasn't expecting much for our one-night stay but was pleasantly surprised. Immaculate room which seemed like it had recently been renovated; good heating (a must in winter in Albury!); quiet room; friendly and efficient reception. Noreuil Park opposite is a lovely spot for a stroll and a picnic in nicer weather. Close to central Albury shopping and entertainment. Would recommend to others and would stay again when visiting Albury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear traffjudd,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

As a team we were very glad to read you comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to wlecoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Address: Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Ablury Hovell Tree is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Albury Hovell Tree is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Albury Hovell Tree features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer Free Austar, Mini Bar, Data Port, Hair Dryer, Tea and Coffee Facilities with Toaster, Individual Reverse Cycle Air Conditioner, Full Size Ironing Board and Iron, Disabled room on request, Balconies on request, Guest Laundry, Wireless / Broadband internet. All Rooms are Non Smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.