We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and Very comfortable ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Albury
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and Very comfortable ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Rooms are excellent ... everything is brand new. Beds are super comfortable with nice linen . Great bathroom with walk in shower and fluffy towels . Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are quiet and very well equiped with everything I could have needed including a Nesspresso machine. Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Albury.Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Sue180371,

Thank you for staying with us and for also putting a review on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read that you were so happy with everything in your room.

We are very proud of our renovated rooms, and thankfully we only have a few left to do now. We do consider our renovated rooms to be the best in Albury.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind words about our Rooms and Staff, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
95
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

the hotel is being renovated and our room was very spacious and elegantly furnished. Breakfast in the morning gave a good choice. Friendly and helpful staff. Bit of a walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Anne88888888,

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on Tripadvisor.

I was interested to read thoughts on our Renovated room and and very pleased that you thought they were elegantly furnished.

It is also great to read that the staff were friendly and helpful, and also that you were happy with the variety of choice for breakfast.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 1 night in a 1 edroom apartment. We were travelling with 3 young children and found this room to be clean, spacious and in a great location. Staff were friendly. We paid $175 and booked via the motel. Would def stay here again!
Comfy beds, huge towels and full kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear tanfan81,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor,

It's great to read that we had a room that could cater for your family and that you enjoyed all the facilities in the room.

We have put new beds into our rooms and all new linen including oversized bath sheets which ever guest seems to be enjoying.

Thankyou again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming your family back on your next visit to Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked for two nights via wotif.
Was upgraded to an executive room which was new and spacious
There are ongoing renovations but they didn't interfere with our stay
Walls are thin and there was a very enthusiastic couple in the room above so bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
The breakfast was nice and the service in the restaurant was fabulous.
overall a good stay.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Austraveldr,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

I was glad to read that our renovations were of no inconvenience to yourself, but that you were able to enjoy the finished product in one of our executive Rooms.

I was also glad to read that you enjoyed the meals and service in our restaurant.

As part of the renovations we have installed sound proof plaster in our rooms, but unfortunately it obviously doesn't block out over enthusiatic couples in the room above. For this I apologise, and I will speak to the builders to see if we can install some extra insullation or something to try and stop this occurring again.

Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Ben Layon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, a week apart. 2nd time they upgraded us to a premium room which was huge with a spa bath - bit of a waste on us, but a nice touch. Rooms have modern, good quality furnishings. Staff are very friendly. Wifi is free. Restaurant is excellent. And there's a Seniors room rate too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear PhilipH1,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It's great to see that you chose to stay with us on your return trip through Albury, and I'm glad you enjoyed your upgrade.

I find it very pleasing when reviewers comment on the friendliness of our staff and about how good our Restaurant has become.

Thank you again for stayin with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was being renovated and unfortunately the builders had plugged their electrical leads into the socket outside my room , leaving the wires trailing across the hall. The room had a film of white dust no doubt from the building works. Dreadful thin pillows need to use them all virtually. Hope they renovate the tatty lift soon. Bearable but not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear Miltonj

Thank you for staying with us and for also posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations on this visit.

I have shown your review to our builders who are doing their absolute best to remain unseen and whilst they do need to connect to power in the corridors ( as the rooms power is off whilst we renovate them ) they will make sure all leads are covered with tripsafe covers as to avoid any unwanted accidents.

I have also spoken to our housekeeping team about ensuring they keep on top of the dust created from the renovations even if it does take them a little longer for each room.

With your pillows, there are different size pillows in the wardrobe of your room. Being a Best Western Plus property we actually have 2 different size pillows in each room so guests can choose a comfort level that suits them.

I am in discussions with the elevator company at the moment as to doing an upgradeof the elevator. We are doing our best to organise a time, it is however difficult as the elevator would need to be shut down for a number of days to give it a facelift.

I do hope that you will give another chance on your next visit to Albury so that you can see that your feedback was taken on board.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed overnight on a NSW holiday.
Staff were very friendly and upon checkin we were advised we were upgraded free to a spa-room which was terrific.
Lots of gluten-free options on the menu for me. At dinner we asked if we could sit outside as it was a pleasant evening. Staff were more than happy to oblige. My wife says she ate her best meal on our trip here (Crumbed Salmon).
We liked it so much we came back on our return trip and stayed again.
Rooms are being renovated, but we heard no noise and the trades-people were very courteous. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Moofmonster,

Thank you for staying with us and submitting a review on Tripadvisor.

It was great to hear that our staff impressed you and you werent put out at all by our renovations.

It was also great that you stayed with us on your return trip through Albury.

I look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Thank you again for staying with us and submitting a review.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn

Address: Cnr. Hovell Street and Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Ablury Hovell Tree is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Albury Hovell Tree is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Albury Hovell Tree features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer Free Austar, Mini Bar, Data Port, Hair Dryer, Tea and Coffee Facilities with Toaster, Individual Reverse Cycle Air Conditioner, Full Size Ironing Board and Iron, Disabled room on request, Balconies on request, Guest Laundry, Wireless / Broadband internet. All Rooms are Non Smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.