We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Albury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atura Albury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Atura Albury to your Saves list
Atura Albury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Rydges Albury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Albury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is in a great location across the road from the Commercial Club in Albury and also other restaurants and pubs are just minutes walk away. The rooms are big beds probably a little too soft but comfortable enough for a good nights sleep. Meals in the restaurant are typical country quality at a fair price.

I return here often for business as this is my hotel of choice in Albury.

Room Tip: Sign up to the Rydges Reward program and get great discounts at the Restaurant immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and for being a loyal guest to the hotel.

It is always pleasing to hear from our regular guests and that we are your choice of hotel when you visit Albury.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    93
    83
    27
    29
See reviews for
38
82
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Overall my stay at Rydges Albruy was only adequate. Although the amenities were clean and most staff helpful that would be all i could or would recommend. Some points below.

1. Upon check in i was greeted cordially enough by the staff behind the counter. As i had pre booked via another website i had no requirement to actually pay as that had already been done. my question regarding when i would receive a tax invoice however could not be met by the front of counter staff. I would assume that if you allow other websites to make and confirm bookings in your hotel that you would at least have a better than working knowledge of how they operate in case any questions are raised.

2. Meals were nice if not more towards the pricey end. Also a "surprise" for me on check out was that regardless of the fact i mostly spent over $40 per night in evening meals i was still charged a tray service fee to actually have room service. No mention is made of this fee anywhere apart from it being slugged onto your bill at the end of your stay. The only mention made is on the breakfast menu which states any meals under $18.50 will incur a $4 tray service fee which in no way could any reasonable person assume that also meant evening meals. Way to make extra money for nothing Rydges.

3. During my stay i had my wife ring me via the hotels phone number and she asked to be put through to my room. Now this should not be s seemingly hard task for front counter staff to undertake you would think? On at least two occasions when she tried to contact me and rang front desk it was a case of " i am not sure if i can do it" and " Our system isn't working" Perhaps front counter staff need to work out the phone transferring system before they come on shift or perhaps they shouldn't be front counter staff.

4. The room itself: Whilst the room was large enough in size and space it is now perhaps very old and tired, A flat screen TV does not a room make. Time to update the rooms Rydges. Especially the bathrooms. You are making more than enough money from your charges for the rooms to actually spend a bit of that on the rooms themselves.

5. Rises breakfast. How in the world can a meal of bacon, eggs, sausages and some toast equate to $28 when you eat in the downstairs restaurant for breakfast.!!! It was cheaper to order room service and as long as you were more than $18.50 in total no tray service fee applies. I have stayed at A LOT of hotels and motels both very large and also small mum and dad type operations in all places around Australia and overseas and i have never felt so ripped off for breakfast in my life. Show me how it can cost $28 for bacon and eggs versus the same exact meal as room service and only $19. And don't use the old chestnut of but it goes towards our staff costs. Is room service magical and delivered by fairies?

Would i recommend this hotel to anyone? most likely not. Will i ever stay at this hotel again? Again unless there is a convention in town and it has the only room available then no i wouldn't. Was i dissatisfied with the stay? Yes i was!!.

I come to Albury quiet regularly on business and i thought i would try someplace new to make sure i was getting value for money and service etc at the current place i regularly stay.. guess what Rydges. you confirmed it for me in a resounding YES i am getting value for money in all ways at a boutique hotel not that very far from you. Perhaps you should find this establishment, spend a couple of nights there and see how a a GOOD hotel is run.

Oh and by the way this survey won't be the only place i post my comments. Buyer beware is a good old trusty saying isn't it !!. And again i love your terms and conditions (which i bet not many people actually read and as they state :

In this context, please note that you are prohibited from including any of the following types of content in your review:
3.1 Swear words, insults, threats, obscenities, FALSE ASSERTIONS, DISPARAGEMENT, ASPERSIONS, defamatory statements, abusive criticism, sexist, pornographic, racist, right-wing extremist, violent or otherwise extremist content, or any other unlawful, political or promotional statements or wording. With regard to the content described above, THE SERVICE PROVIDER RESERVES THE RIGHT TO DELETE AND/OR TO REFRAIN FROM PUBLISHING YOUR REVIEW AND/OR THE RELEVANT PARTS THEREOF.

So if they get a bad review they quite simply delete it and then no one is the wiser and life continues along nicely with no need to fix anything as nothing is broken is it Rydges...But you can't stop users from posting any comments on other websites can you..

Room Tip: heres my tip travellers....Stay somewhere else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We always appreciate it when guests provide us with comments and suggestions on how we can improve our guest experience.

Regarding your first point about the tax receipt, if you have booked via a third party website and pre paid with them, this website should have provided you with a receipt for your accommodation. The hotel can only issue tax receipts to guests that have paid directly to the hotel.

With room service, you will find that is standard practice at most hotels worldwide that a tray charge is an additional charge for any room service orders and this charge is also detailed on the charge slip that is presented to guest to sign when food is delivered.

I am sorry that your wife had difficulties contacting you via the main switchboard and you are absolutely correct, the reception staff should have been able to accommodate this simple request.

I appreciate your comments regarding the room being old and tired and we are currently in the process of planning the hotel refurbishment

Our RISE Buffet Breakfast concept is an extensive buffet offering which extends to more than the hot buffet items you have mentioned. The cost of $28.00 for the buffet means that you can visit the buffet as many times as you like and choose from a selection of yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit, parfaits and the bakery selection which offers croissants, muffins Danish pastries. The hot selection offers a wide variety of items such as bacon, eggs done three ways, sausages, hash browns, beans, mushrooms. You also have a wide variety of fresh juices and tea and coffee. If ordering through room service, you will receive an a la carte plate of hot items, not the buffet selection.

I wish to also point out that the terms & conditions that you mention are not the terms and conditions set by the hotel, these are the terms set by the website that you are using to post this review and I can assure you that Rydges Albury will never delete any guest comments posted, whether they be positive or negative as we value all feedback that we receive.

I am sorry that you feel that the hotel is does not represent good value and they you will not experience the hotel again.

Regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed 1 night and quite enjoyed it. This is a country inn, not a Sydney palace. The room was clean and fresh (little deodorizer), linens quite good and (queen) bed comfortable. It was quiet and relaxing. Guest laundry (free only buy detergent) was handy. Parking free but a self-serve gravel lot so suitcases don't wheel well. Good fast wifi. Reception staff great and the bar pleasant. Breakfast was simple, buffet, but suits my coffee/fruit objective. Nearby some excellent restaurants.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor are quieter, avoid pool noise in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Albury.

Cheers

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This Hotel is located in the heart of Albury in Dean street. Free parking at the rear with shops and restaurants in very close proximatey and the club accross the road, We stayed in an Executive Queen Room on the top floor which was Comfortable and clean. We do stay at this hotel annually due to an annual event, we have never had any real problems always a pleasant stay. The Hotel is old and tired and in need of renovations, but still comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast ordinary and coffee machine was out of order, the perculated coffee provided was a little cold. Apart from that Hotel in great location and stay has always been comfortable. There are two Cafes accross the road, both very good coffee and breaky.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback and for being a return guest to the hotel. We are very lucky that the hotel is in a prime location in Albury and that our guests can enjoy being walking distance to everything that Albury has to offer.

I am pleased that you found our Executive rooms comfortable and the staff friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This has to be one of the worst high brand name hotels I have every stayed in, from check in to check out not a great experience.

On check in we tried to register our reward cards for our stay as they had it advertised all over the reception only to be told no we cant put points to the stay as you have to register prior on the internet they have no facility to award points!

The bar staff in the evening were polite and we recieved good service but beware of the grumpy old man that serves at breakfast, felt like we were intruding also the spread is limited and not very appealing, the second day we walked down the street where there are a couple of nice cafe's better food and service.

The room could not offer me a king only 2 queens on a low floor, room was in need of a renovation, the bath/shower I did not use as it had inground dirt in the bath and a big blue stain where water had been dripping from the leaking taps. The rest of the room like the hotel looked very tired and needs a complete reno or knocking down.

After the 2nd night we checked out and went to the Quest Appartments, great clean friendly and a great cafe bar to have breakfast or dinner.

Sorry Rygdes will not be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Would not bother booking any rooms go find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you Peter for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

The PGR program rewards guests with points when they have made their booking on our hotel website, this is why the reception staff advised that they were unable to process the points as the website automatically does this upon booking.

I am please that you found our restaurant and bar staff friendly and I do apologise that you did not receive the same service at breakfast.

I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel looking tired and we are currently in the process of planning our refurbishment to enhance the hotel product.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked "Rydges" expecting it to be a nice hotel. Dead wrong. It is nothing but a re-furbished dump with a new label slapped on the front. Customer service was terrible. Staff seems like none a properly trained. Would it kill you to smile and acknowledge your guests?! They try to charge us breakfast we didn't have!! When we checked in the receptionist asked if we wanted breakfast and we said maybe and DID NOT explain to us that there would be a non-refunable booking if we changed our minds. When we were checking out and told them we didn't have the breakfast, all the receptionist knew how to say was "unfortunately I cant do that" of course she can take it off, has she heard of basic customer service? You mean to tell me you were gonna charge us something we didn't have?! Would not recommend this place at all. Bath tub was dirty, riddled with stains from the past and the toilet looks like it was from the 70s. DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE. I'm gonna be writing to the "Rydges" chain about this particular franchise and that it is giving them a bad name and not upholding their standards. Just call it "motel on the go" instead.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that the product was not up to your expectation and that our staff let the hotel down in the lack of customer service that was provided.

The hotel has not been refurbished since Rydges took over management of the property a few years ago and we are currently in the process of putting together the refurbishment plan to improve the product, it is anticipated that this will be completed by the end of this year.

In regards to the breakfast, all guests are asked on check in if they would like to pre book breakfast to receive a discount and if guests take up this offer, the charge for the breakfast is added to their room at that time and our chef's catering for the number of people who have pre booked the breakfast buffet.

It seems that from your comments, this was not explained correctly to you and our receptionist should have been a more flexible with the cost to be taken off your account when you check out. This is a matter that we will address with the reception staff.

I apologies again for the short comings that you experienced and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when our refurbishment is completed.

Thank you again

Regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff were lovely and helpful but the hotel is old and tired. The room was ok but the bed was uncomfortable and the springs completely gone in one side. The kettle had mould in it and the room had an awful smell. It was ok for one night but I would never go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Tomas, Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a restful sleep during your recent stay at the hotel. I acknowledge your comments that the hotel is old and tired, and this will be rectified once the hotel has the planned refurbishment in the upcoming months.

We hope that you will try the hotel again after the upgrade has occurred.

Regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atura Albury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atura Albury

Address: 648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Rydges Albury)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atura Albury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fresh take on travel has touched down as Atura Hotels breathe new life into the region's former Rydges Albury. Urban, industrial and art-inspired stying fused with dynamic open plan spaces offer guests an escape from the predictable. High energy spaces, genuine hospitality and thoughtful details at great prices form the mainstay of the Atura Hotels offering - something we know our guests have come to love. Free Wi-Fi everywhere, coffee pod machines in every room and amenities from New York's Malin + Goetz add to the 'Atura' experience. Located in the heart of the region's bustling Dean Street, when you stay at Atura Albury, from cinemas to clubs to theatres, shops and gardens, you'll have everything at your fingertips. Atura Albury is a perfect place for travellers to take an overnight respite from the Sydney - Melbourne driving-marathon but be warned - once you come and stay, you may not want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atura Albury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atura Albury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.