We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good enough rydges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atura Albury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Atura Albury to your Saves list
Atura Albury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Rydges Albury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albury
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“not good enough rydges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we recently spent 1 night at rydges albury.
the room was clean, large and anonomous, like most hotel chains. we usually stay in bed and breakfasts or motels which are family run and therefore have a human touch.
rydges as an organisation needs to look at is environmental practices.
they still use those annoying little soaps and plastic bottles rather than dispensers. better for the environment and nicer for the guest.
the night we stayed there was a wedding on. we had a lot of door slamming and loud noise. how about putting all those guests on one floor and leaving the rest of us in peace. i left a list of suggestions for rydges but have heard nothing. judging by the other reviews i am not alone in my opinion. how about taking some initiative at a local level

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your review Kate. I’m glad you found our rooms a generous size and clean and while we always do our best to keep all wedding parties or any other large groups all on the one floor it would seem on this occasion we were not able to allocate you to a different floor.

We are in the process of getting our certification with EarthCheck which is an internationally recognised environmental management and certification program designed for the travel and tourism industry. Rydges Hotels use this organisation to benchmark themselves and are audited by EarthCheck as we are strongly conscious of the impact we have on the environment and the growing eco-consciousness of guests.

The packaging from our in room amenities are ERP certified (Environmentally Responsible Product) and while the use of dispensers would be more cost effective and practical our guests have told us over the years that they prefer the individual packaging and this has become a standard within the industry.

I am unsure what you mean by ‘taking some initiative at a local level, but please feel free to contact me directly to clarify and discuss.

Thanks again Kate for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    83
    27
    29
See reviews for
38
82
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A little dated & tired all round. Very comfy beds for weary travellers, clean all round. Staff were very friendly. Dinner was good.... breakfast was a bit of hash up though, due to a conference being in-house or perhaps they were doing a re-fit... as it all seemed to be thrown together in a different locaton to where we had dinner the evening before.
As a stop over for travellers, you would find this meets all your requirements.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the property.... a little noisy from the street below on a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I’m pleased to read that all your requirements were met whilst staying with us. We do have a friendly and vibrant team so thanks for mentioning this, they will be pleased to read your comments.

Hope to see you soon,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Whilst the hotel was clean and comfortable it is way past its use by date and need a big makeover! plus too expensive in the current climate. Dont get me wrong it is clean and tidy but furnishings and rooms need to updated urgently. The bar and resturant were fine and all staff where friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Its great to read that we ticked the boxes for what we fill are the most important for our guests; Clean, comfortable, tidy, friendly staff and good Food and Beverage.

While the furnishings are within keeping of the regional feel, I do share your view that the rooms would benefit from new furnishings and while I cannot promise this will happen overnight, I can promise that we will continue to provide and improve on those so important services and hospitality that one has come to expect when staying at a Rydges Hotel.

Many thanks,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

In a good location in the main st of Albury.
OK for the price. Is now getting a little old.
Was clean and tidy. Staff were friendly.
Some really good resturants near by.
Will use them again on passing through

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
And we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are driving through.

There are some great restaurants and pubs all in walking distance as you have pointed out with a variety of cuisines to choose from. But for those that like the convenience of the restaurant and a Bar located on the ground floor especially on a miserable rainy day, our chef has designed a fantastic menu that caters for every one particularly if you are a meat lover with a selection of cuts of grass feed Angus Beef sourced from Gippsland, Victoria.

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dirty room, other peoples hair in the bathroom, white marks/stains on the pillows and carpet, dental floss tools on the floor, warn carpet and dirty walls and you call yourself high end? Bar staff have no idea. At least everyone at reception has been fantastic. Oh and the new girl working the bar is trying her hardest. They need to up grade in a hurry.

Room Tip: Would suggest somewhere less expensive and better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We do not call ourselves high end so I am unsure where you have read this, it may have been blogged by a previous guest though. We do however consider ourselves a comfortable, friendly and great value four star property complimented with some great Food and Beverage facilities and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel. So it is disappointing to read that this was not the case in your room but I trust if you called down to our reception team that this was rectified immediately.

I welcome you to contact me directly to discuss further and what the outcome was and you can elaborate on the Bar staff as I cannot comment without further information.

Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent Location in Albury, Comfortable, Quiet, were on the Top Floor but the Hotel is dressed up but out dated, needs a make over to complement its rating, Staff were friendly, little bit of a wait if you were only 1 of two standing there, once you start queueing up staff appeared, But what you pay for a night Excellent value, 10/10, Overall Rating

Room Tip: Great View on top floor (although we were overlooking car park) bit of worry in the lift , was creak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I was pleased to read Scott that you felt we were excellent value and a 10/10.

We do our best to read and understand the peak periods within our business to ensure prompt service, so it’s good to hear that we were able to react accordingly during a busy check out.

Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a fabulous location, right in the main street but very quiet at night. We had a big family gathering and had booked over 10 rooms. All that I saw were pretty tired with a VERY soft mattress. I believe they have "executive" rooms that have been refurbished. The whole place needs it. Breakfast was excellent and worth the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paultomas, General Manager at Atura Albury, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The Executive Rooms were refurbished all but the bathrooms only a few years ago and boast some nice views from the 7th floor. Sorry to hear that you found the mattress soft, as mentioned in an earlier review we hope to introduce the Dream beds that are made exclusively for Rydges Hotels & Resorts by AH Beard.
I'm glad you found the Breakfast Excellent and value for money and we will continue to work for this to be reflected throughout the entire hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atura Albury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atura Albury

Address: 648 Dean St | Cnr Dean and Elizabeth Streets Albury, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly Rydges Albury)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atura Albury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fresh take on travel has touched down as Atura Hotels breathe new life into the region's former Rydges Albury. Urban, industrial and art-inspired stying fused with dynamic open plan spaces offer guests an escape from the predictable. High energy spaces, genuine hospitality and thoughtful details at great prices form the mainstay of the Atura Hotels offering - something we know our guests have come to love. Free Wi-Fi everywhere, coffee pod machines in every room and amenities from New York's Malin + Goetz add to the 'Atura' experience. Located in the heart of the region's bustling Dean Street, when you stay at Atura Albury, from cinemas to clubs to theatres, shops and gardens, you'll have everything at your fingertips. Atura Albury is a perfect place for travellers to take an overnight respite from the Sydney - Melbourne driving-marathon but be warned - once you come and stay, you may not want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atura Albury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Hotel Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atura Albury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.