We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel on Olive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel on Olive to your Saves list
Quality Hotel on Olive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   579 Olive St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked the "Romance Package" to spend a special night with my wife which included an executive spa suite room, two cocktails, cooked breakfast and late check out.

Check in was easy friendly and efficient. Our first impression of the room was that it was reasonably neat and tidy without being anything special.

We were having dinner with friends at Q Manhattans just around the corner but thought we would all have a drink and make use of our complimentary cocktail voucher first. Despite ordering one of their specialty cocktails the barman made it obvious verbally that he was unsure of the ingredients then left the blender going while he disappeared for 5 minutes. Then just as he was finishing my wife's drink her friend asked me to order her the same. The barman decided to use what was left from my wife's and just fill the glass about 3/4 full. We didn't stick around long and made our way to Q Manhattans where the service is great.

My other big issue was the sound. I'm quite a heavy sleeper but was kept awake/ woken by various things including other guests and music from a pub/club but especially the elevator from about 6am in the morning and had no chance of sleeping after that with both the chime and mechanical noise coming straight through the wall.

The only saving grace was breakfast. Whilst very simple the food was lovely and the staff very professional.

Whilst everything was included as stated there was nothing to make it a "romance package" as such. Even something simple and cheap like some flowers or chocolates or even some bath salts for the spa would have set it apart without being super expensive.

It was a bit of a treat for us and as its not something we do all that often were not that hard to please but in all honesty we wish we had just stayed home . It was very overpriced for the experience we had and we won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
36
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I go to Albury for work regularly and after trying out a few places I have come to settle at the Quality hotel on Olive.
The best thing about it is the people and the restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is good value and the steaks are better than most places in Melbourne. The rooms are not luxurious but are of a decent size and very comfortable.
Wifi can be better but it is free and it works.
In the summer months the outdoor pool is a delight.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the olive during a number of visits to Albury. The staff are friendly, check in is quick and easy after a long trip. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean.

It is a very short stroll into the main street, with a great selection of shops and cafes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

A basic but clean motel. Exceptionally efficient and friendly staff. Good meals served with a smile. Good value for money. Rooms a bit basic but clean and fresh with good air conditioning. First floor near pool filter can be noisy overnight from reports of colleagues, but second and above ok. Will return if in area. Visited in march for 3 days as part of conference.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Quality Hotel on Olive recently for 2 nights. The hotel is promoted as 4 Star but our room on the first floor was not - a good 3 or maybe 3.5 but not the 4 star standard of the AAATourism guidelines viz;" Properties which satisfy the varied and discerning needs and wants of their guests. A wide range of facilities is typically complemented by service standards that deliver a unique accommodation experience. SUPERIOR DESIGN QUALITIES (emphasis added) reflect the level of comfort expected by guests." (although the ratings guide contains the caveat that only 60% of the rooms need to achieve the 4 Star rating for it to be applied).
The room was freshly painted in white with no pictures and no full-length mirror. The carpet was new and there were two single beds and a queen bed, a flat-screen TV, a desk attached to the wall and a desk chair. There was no lounge chair. The room had its own air conditioner which was a little noisy but effective and there was free wi-fi available. The bathroom was clean and simple with an older, single-flush cistern, a basic shower head and a single basin with hot and cold taps. I have attached some photos taken while we were in the room so excuse the untidiness.
The hotel has a nice bar and dining room and you can eat or drink out by the pool. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful as were the dining and bar staff.
All-in-all it's a good, comfortable hotel but our bedroom needed a total update from its basic 70's style.
We'd stay there again, as it's in the heart of Albury and the bar and dining facilities are very good, as were the friendly staff, however, we'd be insisting on a genuinely 4 star room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions when visiting Albury. It is not a pretty hotel from the outside but the restaurant and pool are just off reception is a great place to relax have a drink and read the paper. The dinner was very good I was surprised and the breakfast was fine but nothing special. I would class this as one of the better hotel in Albury and is just of the main street so very central. Definitely worth a considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

You may think from the exterior that you were in for a trying time. Don't be fooled the rooms have been recently refreshed are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms were also recently redone and are clean and modern. The airconditioning also works well (essential when staying in Summer)
There is free wifi and parking, the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Hotel is located within a very short walk from the main bar and restaurant strip in Albury. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel on Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel on Olive

Address: 579 Olive St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#5 Business Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel on Olive 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Motel near city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel on Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Albury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel on Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.