We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful. Don't bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Grand Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Grand Palace
473B Dean St, Albury, New South Wales NSW 2640, Australia
(02) 6023 1402
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 126 Restaurants in Albury
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful. Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is one of the worst Thai restaurants I have been to. We ordered rice paper rolls for an entree - they were filled with a couple of bits of fresh greens, minuscule bits of chicken and copious amounts of noodles. For a main course I ordered lemon grass prawns but was served a dish of prawns and vegetables with a tasteless Chinese sauce. May as well have been at a Chinese take-a-way. There was no lemon grass in the dish at all! When I complained the management was arrogant and basically couldn't have cared less saying they'd never had a complaint before. My husband ordered nasi goreng (more indonesian than thai) and his meal was tasteless. This place doesn't even come close to serving Thai food. Don't bother!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overly sweet, bland flavours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our meal here was disappointing. We ordered several appetisers to share - all were somewhat lacking in flavour, and were served with what appeared to be the same sweet dipping sauce. Also ordered Mee Krob - just crisped vericelli noodles, drenched in a sweet, sticky, pink sauce - and a tom yum soup, which was also sweet - weird. Service was very fast and pleasant, unfortunately we could not recommend the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Service beyond expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late in Albury on our drive from Melbourne to Sydney. We also wanted to go to the movies and knowing that we'd be pretty hungry when the movie finished we looked for a Restaurant that would still be open at 10 pm. They all said they'd close early as trade was pretty slow. The exception was the Thai Palace where the waitress said they would wait for us to come out of the movies. When we got back we were the only guests, but they were true to their word. We had a wonderful meal and service with a huge smile.
This kind of thing is what differentiates average and wonderful. Well done.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasteless Thai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If this is the best restaurant in Albury then you have a major problem.
Our mixed entrees were all deep fried and all had the same oily cardboard taste.
The $20 plus main courses were all unrecognisable as Thai food and there is $4 per person charge for rice.
The whole meal was a spice and flavour free zone. Even the few veggies were of the frozen variety although a sliver of red pepper could have been fresh.
They was no sign or taste of the usual coriander, mint or chillies which are used in most Thai food.
My local Thai $15 takeaway in Willoughby leaves this for dead. It's sad that this place is considered acceptable food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rubbish and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

With the number of Thai restaurants in Australia you would have thought that this would have been bit more authentic. The food was bland with bait of sauce. Reminded me of the Chinese restaurant at the boiling clubs in the 80s.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Grand Palace also viewed

Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Grand Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.